South African Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made this with a north African chicken dish, and it was good. After reading some other reviewers' comments that they found it somewhat sweet, I made 1 serving ahead of time, and based on that, decided to use only about a quarter of the amount of sugar called for. I also soaked the raisins for about an hour to plump them up a bit. Served the meal with a South African white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I made in in the rice cooker, as a previous poster did. It turned out wonderful. This was delicious! This recipe is going into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This recipe was good, but the spices took from the rice its self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan_Saffel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was really good. I had a package of yellow rice and I wanted to try something new. I of course omitted the salt and turmeric because my packaged yellow rice already had spices in it. I made the yellow rice according to the package and tossed in the raisins, cinnamon, and sugar. I took the suggestion of others and only used 1 tablespoon of the sugar and it wasn’t too sweet to me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
this rice is so easy and it tastes awesome! my whole family loved it! i will definatly be making this again very soon! i served it with Bobotie, and it was really great! i don't really like meat loaf but i loved the bobotie and rice together!! i highly recomend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My fiancee and I did not care for this rice. I cut the sugar like suggested and sweetness was okay, what I did not like was the cinnamon flavor it was overpowering. My fiancee states "it was okay, but who wants to settle for okay."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I've never tasted anything like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was a cool rice recipe, definitely different than the usual side of rice ;) I followed other reviewers' tips and cut the sugar in half. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
My husband is South African and had high hopes for this dish. Unfortunately, it ended up being just OK. With both sugar adn raisins, this ended up being way too sweet. I will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I thought this recipe was very good. I was a little skeptical as I don't usually care for sweet rice, but I was pleasantly surprised. I took it to a potluck African celebration. The bowl was empty at the end of the program. Always a good sign. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States