South African Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I enjoyed this recipe. It was very easy to cook. I used Splenda and reduced the sugar. With the raisins it was more than sweet enough. Very good, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was very good. My only complaint is that I don't think the turmeric dissolved well and some bites were a bit chalky. This might of been my fault, since I like my rice dry and only used 1.75 cups of water. It might of dissolved better in more water as the original recipe called for. Next time I will stir the spices in the water vigorously before adding the rice. My other changes was that I used only one tablespoon of sugar. Combined with the raisins, it gave the dish a hint of sweetness without being overally sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made this with a north African chicken dish, and it was good. After reading some other reviewers' comments that they found it somewhat sweet, I made 1 serving ahead of time, and based on that, decided to use only about a quarter of the amount of sugar called for. I also soaked the raisins for about an hour to plump them up a bit. Served the meal with a South African white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I made in in the rice cooker, as a previous poster did. It turned out wonderful. This was delicious! This recipe is going into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This recipe was good, but the spices took from the rice its self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan_Saffel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was really good. I had a package of yellow rice and I wanted to try something new. I of course omitted the salt and turmeric because my packaged yellow rice already had spices in it. I made the yellow rice according to the package and tossed in the raisins, cinnamon, and sugar. I took the suggestion of others and only used 1 tablespoon of the sugar and it wasn’t too sweet to me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
this rice is so easy and it tastes awesome! my whole family loved it! i will definatly be making this again very soon! i served it with Bobotie, and it was really great! i don't really like meat loaf but i loved the bobotie and rice together!! i highly recomend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My fiancee and I did not care for this rice. I cut the sugar like suggested and sweetness was okay, what I did not like was the cinnamon flavor it was overpowering. My fiancee states "it was okay, but who wants to settle for okay."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I've never tasted anything like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was a cool rice recipe, definitely different than the usual side of rice ;) I followed other reviewers' tips and cut the sugar in half. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States