South African Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Transformed50
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I would definitely use this recipe again. I added salt and pepper lightly to the potatoes, bell peppers and a twist: some marinated broccoli from a thanksgiving dish for crunch and fiber. A great marriage of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Transformed50

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Awesome recipe! I make this often for a household of several men and they eat all of it every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
A bit too sweet and too "soupy". Using half of the sweetened condensed milk would take care of both of these problems. I added some bacon bits; the salad needed a bit of salt anyway, which the bacon bits provided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
My husband is from South Africa and he lives with us is the USA so if he can get anything South-African he is happy!!!! corrinamarais are you fro south africa? Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wanamingo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rush City, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I cut the entire recipe in half and the sweetened condensed milk made it too sweet. However, the condensed milk is a nice twist in the recipe for a new flavor every now and then
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
this is really a wonderful recipe. our traditional family potato salad is basically the same- we just add small bits of fried bacon, green peppers and about a tablespoon of sweet chilli sauce- it makes a world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liyana 'i Zulu

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I enjoyed this potato salad. Everyone was trying to figure out the ingrediants because it does have an original taste to it. It makes people wonder and it's funny to watch their expressions as they notice there is something special and different about this potato salad. I didn't give it a 5 because while delicious it was not restaurant material, but for home and for anyone that loves potato salad, I do recommend this salad. I don't think it's for everyone, but everyone in my family did enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States