South African Melktert (Milk Tart) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is Bakgat! Baaie dankie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
tasted list scrambled eggs gone wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The only recommendation I have is to put something below the tart while it cooks, because mine spilled over the edge mid-way...and man does it suck to clean burnt milk out of a oven! Other than that...it was excellent! Was a little off set by the instructions at first, but I followed them to-the-letter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was a great review and gobbled up in my house! We have laying ducks (muscovies) and a milk goat, and used their eggs and milk, which worked great, too. Going to try splitting the batch next time and making some with cocoa powder and some with coffee, though it is surprisingly flavourful all on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good. I made this as a dessert accompaniment to the Moroccan Tagine recipe on this site, and it was a nice balance to the spiciness of the Tagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I have not made this- very silly question: As it is, does that mean it inlcudes the crust or-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I prepared this for an International Dinner held by my church. It was a sensation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
LEKKER JONG!!!!!This is the real deal!!!!! This comes from a full blooded South African
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Very good! It is hard the first time you make it as you will be confused about mixing the milk with the dough, and it will have lumps that sink to the bottom no matter how long you beat it. the lumps form the bottom crust and the whipped egg whites form the top crust. This reminds me of a recipe called "Impossible Pie". Very tasty and a great way to use up milk. (got 3 milk cows)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Pre-bake the crust for about 10-12 minutes. Try to make the filling as follows: 1. Bring half the milk and butter to the boil 2. Cream the sugar, egg yolks maizena (half flour & half maizena), salt and vanilla with the rest of the milk. Ommit the baking powder. 3 Add some of the hot milk to the creamed mixture, then put it back into the pot and heat gently until it thickens 4. Do NOT boil 5. Fold in the egg whites and pour the filling into the pie crust. Sprinkle the cinnamon sugar on top and.... 6. Bake for 20-25 minutes in a 180C oven. It is much easier to make it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States