South African Melktert (Milk Tart) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
very yum!! my husband is south african and we lived in SA for 3 years after getting married and this is as close as it gets to d real thing. my husband n kids loved it. didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is Bakgat! Baaie dankie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
tasted list scrambled eggs gone wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The only recommendation I have is to put something below the tart while it cooks, because mine spilled over the edge mid-way...and man does it suck to clean burnt milk out of a oven! Other than that...it was excellent! Was a little off set by the instructions at first, but I followed them to-the-letter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was a great review and gobbled up in my house! We have laying ducks (muscovies) and a milk goat, and used their eggs and milk, which worked great, too. Going to try splitting the batch next time and making some with cocoa powder and some with coffee, though it is surprisingly flavourful all on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good. I made this as a dessert accompaniment to the Moroccan Tagine recipe on this site, and it was a nice balance to the spiciness of the Tagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I have not made this- very silly question: As it is, does that mean it inlcudes the crust or-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I prepared this for an International Dinner held by my church. It was a sensation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
LEKKER JONG!!!!!This is the real deal!!!!! This comes from a full blooded South African
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Very good! It is hard the first time you make it as you will be confused about mixing the milk with the dough, and it will have lumps that sink to the bottom no matter how long you beat it. the lumps form the bottom crust and the whipped egg whites form the top crust. This reminds me of a recipe called "Impossible Pie". Very tasty and a great way to use up milk. (got 3 milk cows)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States