South African Malvapoeding (Marshmallow Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Excellent recipe, have tried it a number of times and it's a winner every time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I'd heard of this pudding from S. African friends so thought I'd give it a try. I used my usual substitute for cake flour: reduce all-purpose by 2 T. per cup, add an equivalent amount of corn starch. I did find the vinegar curdled the milk mixture while heating, in future I'd either add it when it comes off the stove or use buttermilk. No apricot jelly so I used raspberry. My pudding tested done after 35 minutes, probably because I used a slightly bigger dish than specified. I used orange juice in the sauce, it curdled straight away although I don't think that matters. After soaking,the pudding was slightly drier in the middle. If I made this again I would like to do what a previous reviewer suggests and pour some of the sauce mixture over the pudding half way through baking. My family liked the pudding warm, I prefer it cool. Thx for an interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is the exact recipe that my brother-in-law made for me when my husband and I were visiting in Australia. This is most definitely a cake and not a "pudding" like we Americans think of when we hear the word. (And I'm not sure where "marshmallow" came from?) This cake was so moist and rich. Absolutely give this recipe a try! Thanks for posting, Hynch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I used seedless boysenberry jam. Had the perfect bread pudding texture I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TROGDOR!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Being a South African this recipe is the one my mom taught me when I was younger. but I have to say that it was surprising to see that the translation of the name is marshmallow pudding :) I've never heard that before. To the questions that was asked... if the center of the pudding falls in don't stress when you pour the sauce over it will again puff up. before you pour the sauce over use a knife to get the sides loose. This makes the sauce absorb easier and the end is a awesome saucy pudding enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Cake flour: has a less expansive gluten for crumblier texture. Acceptable substitution is to remove 2 T all purpose flour per cup as required for the recipe. I think that commercially available cake flour contains some cornstarch, but I'm not certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I had no idea what to expect when I first made this and I was pleasantly surprised. I used fig jelly instead of apricot, but it tasted really nice. The texture was very interesting, in between a cake and a fluffy pudding. Will definitley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Mmmm! So good. I give 10 stars! I did every thing exactly as written only i used blackberry jam insted of the apricot (as suggested but another reviewer). It was a wonderful flavor. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a HUGE hit. Thank you so much! It even tastes good reheated. Just pop a slice in the microwave for 12 seconds and you have an even better taste than the first. I made it exactly as the original recipe suggest. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ktAZ
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was very good! It's a fruit cake. Do not double the recipe though, rookie mistake by me. :) It affects the way the middle of the cake bakes. However, itwas very good! I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States