South African Malvapoeding (Marshmallow Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I made this last night and loved it - it's just as I remember it! It turned out perfectly and absolutely delicious. I definitely recommend using orange juice (instead of water or sherry). Serve it with warm custard to top off a wonderful dessert (or anytime treat :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liezl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
So delicious - tastes like toffee bread pudding! I even cut the butter in half for the cream and it was still rich and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
My husband made this for me after seeing it made on an Oprah show. Halfway through baking he poured the sauce on it like shown on the show. He used seedless blackberry preserves instead because I don't like apricot. It was wonderful! I am begging him to make for me w/lemon curd! As a tip to others, cake flour is just fine sifted flour. Superfine sugar can be made by giving your regular sugar a zip in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Yumeee!!! This is the perfect pudding for a cold or rainy day (actually, any day will do :-). There are many recipes for this pudding, but being an Afrikaner myself, I can guarantee that this is a winner. I've made it for years and have always used orange juice. The orange juice gives it that perfect taste. This is a very rich pudding (dessert) and should be served in small portions. Go on, try it!! I'm sure you'll love it too!! Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
The taste of this dessert was top-notch, but the actual baking process was strange. Is the milk supposed to curdle, both in the batter and in the topping? If not, how do you prevent this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ktAZ
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was very good! It's a fruit cake. Do not double the recipe though, rookie mistake by me. :) It affects the way the middle of the cake bakes. However, itwas very good! I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
Everyone in my house loved it. We tried it hot and then put it in the fridge and had it again when it was cold. It's very good both ways. I used water to make it the first time, and I'm sure I'll make it again and try the OJ and eventually the sherry too. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
What did I do wrong? The outside browned way too soon, finished much before the suggested time and the inside was brown, (is it supposed to be white?) and it "fell" early. I can tell I would like this but I must have used too much sugar or something. Can someone be more specific about what superfine sugar is. I used confectioner's sugar. Also, what is cake flour? Is that just regular white flour? I used cake mix. Thank you for any replies-the flavors are great-I hope I can find out how I can correct the overdoneness- is 350 the correct temperature?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was so delicious. I didn't quite know what to expect with this recipe with a name like Marshmallow Pudding and reading some of the ingredients but I was more than pleasantly surprised I used orange juice and about 3/4 cups at that, but added some sugar to the sauce. I don't quite know if the cake, or whatever I would call it, was supposed to fall a bit in the middle. No matter what it was decadent, unique, and something I will definately make again in the future! The hubby absolutely loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Not reviewing this recipe, but answering LORRAINE32's question ... superfine sugar is NOT confectioner's sugar. It is like granulated sugar but with much smaller pieces ... I make my own by putting granulated sugar in a food processor until it's finer, and it works great. Also, cake flour comes in a box in the grocery store near the other flours; not sure exactly how it's different from all-purpose flour, but it is - and it IS different from a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States