South African Malvapoeding (Marshmallow Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Some Afrikaans recipe books refer to "Cake flour" meaning all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This is an incredible recipe, and one that (for once) I followed to the letter. For those expecting a pudding... don't. It is a rich, moist and spongy cake. The sauce makes this a decadent dessert, and one that I will definitely repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Need a hot pudding in a rush - make this one. It is brilliant and is one of the quickest and easiest puddings to make. I prefer using orange juice for the sauce. Served with cream or custard my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Duff-Riddell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
My pudding fell halfway through the baking and was WAY overcooked -- brown and dry-looking inside all along the edges. And I couldn't possibly compare the texture to a marshnmallow -- more like a pound cake, but maybe that was due to the falling. The syrup was great (I reduced a cup of OJ to a 1/2 cup to enhance the flavor) and I will try this recipe again, but I'd definitely bake it for HALF the time called for in this recipe. Might be more attractive to serve to guests if it were prepared in individual ramekins, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Not reviewing this recipe, but answering LORRAINE32's question ... superfine sugar is NOT confectioner's sugar. It is like granulated sugar but with much smaller pieces ... I make my own by putting granulated sugar in a food processor until it's finer, and it works great. Also, cake flour comes in a box in the grocery store near the other flours; not sure exactly how it's different from all-purpose flour, but it is - and it IS different from a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
What did I do wrong? The outside browned way too soon, finished much before the suggested time and the inside was brown, (is it supposed to be white?) and it "fell" early. I can tell I would like this but I must have used too much sugar or something. Can someone be more specific about what superfine sugar is. I used confectioner's sugar. Also, what is cake flour? Is that just regular white flour? I used cake mix. Thank you for any replies-the flavors are great-I hope I can find out how I can correct the overdoneness- is 350 the correct temperature?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I wasn't sure how this would turn out but I'm glad I gave it a go! It doesn't taste like marshmallows but the texture is soft. The pudding part took a full 60mins to bake and I made the sauce using water. I thought there was going to be too much sauce but within a matter of seconds it had all soaked deep into the pudding. Next time I will try the orange juice as the pudding didn't have a lot of flavour with just the water. You could really adapt this recipe to use any kind of flavour you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
Everyone in my house loved it. We tried it hot and then put it in the fridge and had it again when it was cold. It's very good both ways. I used water to make it the first time, and I'm sure I'll make it again and try the OJ and eventually the sherry too. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States