South African Malvapoeding (Marshmallow Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Yumeee!!! This is the perfect pudding for a cold or rainy day (actually, any day will do :-). There are many recipes for this pudding, but being an Afrikaner myself, I can guarantee that this is a winner. I've made it for years and have always used orange juice. The orange juice gives it that perfect taste. This is a very rich pudding (dessert) and should be served in small portions. Go on, try it!! I'm sure you'll love it too!! Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I thought the apricot made it taste funny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Really yummy recipe...Just to clear things up, the word "pudding" in British/South African English means "dessert", so all you Americans out there can stop being confused by the description already. Use regular flour if you want, and put your sugar in the blender to make it superfine. Follow the instructions and you won't go wrong! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
As a response to other reviews only.Cake flour is not just a sifted flour. Cake flour has different properties which makes it a weak flour, in turn that's why cakes need binders and such, also they are generally lighter, as opposed to bread flour which have properties that are unique and makes bread flour a strong flour. That's why breads are generally tougher than cakes. A.P. flour can be substituted for any of these but the ending results will differ slightly from its intended texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commis Chef Nieves

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I was not impressed with this recipe at all. The name leads one to believe it has a fluffy, marshmallow-like texture, resembling a lightweight pudding. It's a cake, not a pudding. The flavor was okay but it is on the greasy side. I'm confused as to some of the higher ratings on this site because I'm not a new cook, I followed the directions explicitly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
The taste of this dessert was top-notch, but the actual baking process was strange. Is the milk supposed to curdle, both in the batter and in the topping? If not, how do you prevent this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
My husband made this for me after seeing it made on an Oprah show. Halfway through baking he poured the sauce on it like shown on the show. He used seedless blackberry preserves instead because I don't like apricot. It was wonderful! I am begging him to make for me w/lemon curd! As a tip to others, cake flour is just fine sifted flour. Superfine sugar can be made by giving your regular sugar a zip in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I made this last night and loved it - it's just as I remember it! It turned out perfectly and absolutely delicious. I definitely recommend using orange juice (instead of water or sherry). Serve it with warm custard to top off a wonderful dessert (or anytime treat :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liezl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
So delicious - tastes like toffee bread pudding! I even cut the butter in half for the cream and it was still rich and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was so delicious. I didn't quite know what to expect with this recipe with a name like Marshmallow Pudding and reading some of the ingredients but I was more than pleasantly surprised I used orange juice and about 3/4 cups at that, but added some sugar to the sauce. I don't quite know if the cake, or whatever I would call it, was supposed to fall a bit in the middle. No matter what it was decadent, unique, and something I will definately make again in the future! The hubby absolutely loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States