South African Lamb Sosaties(Kebabs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Loved this recipe! My husband loved it too! I did follow some of the reviews and added garlic, vinegar and brown sugar to the marinade. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Nice. However, being South African, I don't use stew meat for kebabs (Sosaties). A good grade of either lamb/chicken/beef is normaly used. I also add a touch of vinegar, brown sugar, curry to taste and garlic. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This was terrific. I added 2 cloves of garlic and brown sugar instaed of white. Plus some red, yellow and orange peppers and a nice sqwirt of lemon juice. Served them on pawarthas for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was delicious. I added 1 tsp of trigosal which is a Colombian spice that can be found on some Spanish supermarkets. I also baked it at 350 degrees for one hour and added tiny potatoes to the skewer. Yum Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. I usually substitute chicken instead of lamb and add more curry powder and sugar to my marinade. I gradually add in more curry powder and sugar until I like the taste. Only adding the suggested amount of curry and sugar is not enough to give the marinade a good flavor. If you're able to find Cape Malay curry powder, try it in the marinade, it's the best. I find that thinner pieces of onion work best for the recipe. This meal is the perfect meal for a warm summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
this was okay as a marinade; a little bland but it did make the lamb tender. I used lamb pieces bone in and didn't make kebabs. I kept all other ingredients the same sans the apricots which I omitted. I did add salt to the marinade. The onion was overpowering after it had sat in the yogurt overnight and I used a medium onion cut into chunks. Personal choice but I prefer to make a marinade out of the "Mixed Grill of Sausage, Chicken and Lamb With Tandoori Flavorings". All said, it did make the lamb very tender and I was very glad to try a South African recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
It is really good to see classic South African recipes. Very few people know what type of food South Africans eat. Having left south africa 2 years ago, it is so difficult to find recipes that I have forgotten. Thank you !! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This was just ok. The marinade was fairly bland but the apricots caramelised nicely on the BBQ and worked well with the meat. Probably won't make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
Very nice recipe. Good to see some South African recipes on here. Keep up the good work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States