Sourdough Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
I used a sourdough starter made with whole wheat flour-no white flour and followed the rest of Mari's recipe; it was just great! Sincerely Dorothy Gamouras
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
This made a great bread. I had to use almost double the amount of starter called for though, and it took quite a while to rise. Will definately use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
This has a wonderful soft chewy texture! Great flavor. Just the right amount of whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
Tried it 3 times, failed it 3 times. Makes a very heavy bread that is uncooked in the middle. Taste was quite good, though, but you gotta like heavy mid-uncooked bread to like this one... Somebody can help me (I've already tried to add a bit more water to make the bread rise higher, but it didn't help!)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I'm working my way through all the bread machine recipes on this site and this is beyond the worst. It only cooked on the bottom, the middle was gummy and the top was dough. I'm trying to finish it up in the oven and save this mess. Tweaking may help it, but I will never try this recipe again to find out...not when there are several recipes turned out very nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burns Boiled Water

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
For some reason there wasn't enough moisture in the dough when it was mixing in the bread machine. It was crumbly and wouldn't form into a ball. I had to add about 1/2 cup of milk to make the right consistancy. Maybe my starter was thicker than usual. The dough seemed really heavy at first but when it rises, it is much lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I did have to add quite a bit more water, but once the dough attained the right consistency (depends on the hydration of your starter- mine is thick) this bread came out PERFECT! Nice texture, neither too dense or light, and a flavor to die for. I did have to bake in the oven (350 for 35 min) as the whole wheat setting on my bread machine decided not to work, so I selected dough cycle, then removed and punched down slightly. Added to bread pan and let rise until doubled. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Wasn't very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by classicmustangchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Recipe is much larger than 1.5 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My bread machine has been broken so I handmade this. I mixed everything as I would for my bread machine. Except I only used 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour and 2 1/4 cup whole wheat flour. I wanted a mostly wheat bread. I had to heat up 1/2 cup whole milk and add it in slowly. Baked it at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. It turned out great. It tastes mostly like wheat bread not really like sourdough at all. But it still made a great bread, nice and fluffy. Next time I am going to try making all 3 3/4 cups whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States