Sourdough Tomato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This bread is delicious, but I was hoping for more of a tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Gordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I use sun-dried tomato paste from a tube to give it a stronger tomato flavor. Still its not very strong thats the only thing that keeps this from being a 5 star recipe. I want a tomato bread that can stand up to my pesto butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia Bloodmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is going to be my sourdough recipe from now on. This recipe makes bread that can be used not only for toast, but also sandwiches because it will not crumble on you after you slice it. I love it! I did not use any pacaged yeast; I only used the suggested amount of sourdough starter for leavening. It took my dough 11 hours to raise the first time, and about 1.5 hours the second time. The wait was well worth it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
EXCELLENT recipe. I added about 1/4 c chopped sun dried tomatoes to this, and will definitely do this again. I also baked only one loaf and froze the second loaf. The frozen loaf worked out fine--very much like buyign frozen bread. I don't know if this made a difference, but some recipes call for rising in the refrigerator for 12+ hours before baking. Due to my time constraints, I put the unfrozen loaf in the loaf pan and refrigerated for 24 hours before baking. I let it rise on the counter for 2 hours before baking Texture was great and the flavor was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCPMFAN60103

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Fantastic! Great with a huge slice of warm from the garden summer tomatoes, swiss cheese and mayo. Gotta run....the oven timer is going off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Very tasty! I followed the instructions for the soft crust, and even though it came out rock hard, softened up wonderfully! I also added 1 tsp basil and 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, along with 4 slices of pepper jack cheese. Will double those next time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This turned out very nicely. I only made half a recipe and did add in basil, garlic, and cheese as suggested by previous reviewers, but I think it would have been pretty good even without those additions. My husband said it tasted like "pizza in bread form."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Unbelievably yummy!!! I added the italian seasoning and the sundried tomatoes with V-8. We will be making this often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe, I added some garlic and basil for an extra bump in flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khask

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Wow! Awesome recipe! Thanks, Esther! I've made this recipe twice and it definitely had a better flavor the second time when I used a more established sourdough starter. I added about a tablespoon of italian seasoning to the dough and about a 1/2 cup of sundried tomatoes, taking the suggestions of another reviewer. In addition to that, I used the oil from the sundried tomatoes to grease the bowl and the top of the dough before letting it rise. I make an herbed butter to go with the bread and it's delicious! The best part for my husband and I were the grilled cheese sandwiches I made the second day. Spread a little herbed butter on one side each of two slices of bread. Make sandwiches using a couple of slices of pepperjack cheese. Grill the sandwiches on the buttered sides until the bread is toasted and the cheese is melty. The pepperjack cheese makes the flavors of the butter and the bread burst! I'd like to serve it next time with a nice tomato soup. My husband's mouth has been watering for more ever since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States