Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I have always wanted to make sourdough bread but was always intimdated by the starter. Well I finally took the plunge with this recipe and it turned out great. I did as another reviewer suggested but I only fed it once aday 1/3 cup water and 1/3 cup flour. On the fifth day I made the San Francisco Sourdough and it turned out great. Now my biggest concern is keeping my starter fed. Thanks for sharing this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This is such a simple recipe. My first time ever to make a starter or sourdough bread and it worked like a charm. My starter appeared to be ready after only 24 hours, but I fed it 1/3 cup flour and 1/3 cup water and left it out one more day just to be safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Based on the outcome of the bread, this is a great starter and they'll always be some in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was my first successful sourdough starter! I made this on Friday, kept it in the oven with just the oven light on, and that made a nice warm little womb for this starter! :-) Today, day 5, I used 1.5c to make "San Francisco Sourdough Bread" from this website, and replaced what I took out with 1.5c flour & 1.5c water. The bread turned out great and had a definite sourdough taste, even on the first use, so I can't wait 'til it ages a little more for more of that great flavor. Thank you so much, Esther!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
510 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I let mine sit out for 4 days before transferring it to a mason jar and storing in the fridge. WARNING: Don't put an air tight lid on. If you are using a mason jar, just lightly close the lid allowing some air in. Otherwise you may have a problem! The starter is fermenting and has a tendency to "grow". Make sure there is some room at the top of the jar for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This is the bomb! I've kept the starter alive for a whole month (yeah me!), and it just keeps getting better every week. I use it with the San Francisco Sourdough and I get awesome results. We've named the starter Frank, and he's starting to make the rounds in my friends' kitchens all over town! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Ester, I wanted to thank you so very much for all the information you included with the recipe. I am a beginner yeast baker and appreciate the extra tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Be sure to use a LARGE container - I mixed mine up in a 4-cup tupperware and it oozed all over the counter within a couple hours (albeit during 31C/88F weather). Otherwise, seems to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theresa in london
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
i couldn't believe how easy this was! i considered giving only 4 stars for not explaining when/how much we need to feed, but this starter was so forgiving! i'm not entirely sure i fed it enough, but i used it to make 'san francisco sourdough' and it came out perfectly! it is now nearly a week old and i've put it in the refrigerator. i'll be using this starter again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa in london

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Works great! I made it a few months ago and it keeps getting better and better with each loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States