Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is the perfect simple starter! I feed mine 1/3 cups water and flower and a pinch of sugar once a day. Then I feed it 1 cup each before using/storing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this starter about a year ago, and have been using and feeding it about once per month. The older it gets, the better the flavor. Recently I made a loaf of sourdough and needed about a cup less flour than normal, I'm attributing the change to the age of the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
VERY easy to make - I used a mason jar and followed the advice to put it in a pan in the oven with the light on when I went to work. When I walked in the door 8 hours later, my husband came to me and gently said, "I think something went wrong with what you were cooking" because it had overflowed into the pan generously. I'm glad others advised to feed it - I've had it out for a little over a week now and I've been feeding it every morning and evening 1/4 or 1/3 cup flour and warm water. When I baked with it yesterday, I used a whole cup and I'm back to overflowing today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Worked well! This is my first time ever doing a starter and it was great! I aged it 7 days and made San Francisco sourdough from this site. I fed the starter every day about 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of water, it fermented and got liquidy and I'd just stir it in....I also kept it primarily in the oven with just a light on as suggested by another. I have it in the fridge now, and plan on aging it some more, and making another batch of bread.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Be careful! When the others say that this grows quickly they're not lying. I just made this, put it in a mason jar, read the warnings from others, turned around, and my starter had already outgrown its jar in 5 minutes! I transferred it to a glass mixing bowl on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
make this for oatmeal sour dough and turn out great. i use it while it 4 days old but already can taste faint sour dough taste. will make it again for another sour dough when the started 2 weeks old. great!! my first time but the result is fantastic. i feed mine once or twice a day 1/4 c flour and water also a pinch of sugar. i make a very nice sweet rice wine smell and also a nice brown liquid on top which completely normal. i dived the started to 2 container so it doesn't over flow. after i use it i replace it with 1 cup of water and flour. leave it out side for 1 day then go back to the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
i did like this starter recipe; although there are some quirks not answered here. to feed: after removing what ever you are going to use to make a loaf or several loaves, add 1 cup water and 1 cup flour back into the starter to keep it going for each sup of starter removed in the first place, this is feeding the starter. crust on top: cover the stater with saran never foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Did not work. I tried and tried and tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I tried to create a starter without using yeast for months with poor results. I used this recipe and made great sourdoughs for a year! You must let this starter sit for a minimum of 2-3 days before you use it. I was able to reduce the volume of this starter and make it a bit firmer by eventually using about 1/4 cup starter and feeding it with 1/4 cup warm water and 3/4 cup flour. (I use about 1 - 1 1/2 cups starter for my bread.) If it ever started acting less active, I just threw in a pinch of rye flour and that did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very confused about the whole feeding thing...I started 2 seperat ones because I was so unsure that my first one was ok...it seems to be. I have been "feeding" everyday but not sure I am doing it right...will find out soon!!! I really wish the directions were a bit more precise...thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prcutie71

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States