Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I found a really useful explanation here that might help you get over day 3 that explains why the thing rises like crazy initially and then appears to go flat ... it suggests using acid and fancy flours and all sorts of daunting ingredients instead of flour and water but a purist would have you stick with the basics and a bit of patience. Give it a chance. Note that if you manage to bake using bacteria as the leavener instead of yeast you should end up with a very sour tasting loaf anyway. If the ratings on this recipe are any indication that's just fine for many people. I've failed at this many times though and I think part of my issue is mold... maybe it's time to clean the kitchen. http://www.thefreshloaf.com/node/233
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Thank you, Esther!!! My starter (named "Edna" after my grandmother) turned 1 year old this past November!!!!!!!!!!!! She has been quite forgiving of me as I have learned to care for her. I have made countless loaves of sourdough bread and a couple of rounds of sourdough cinnamon rolls!!!! This starter was easy to do and has staying power!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
this is a beautiful sourdough starter. works like a dream smells fantastic and makes a wonderful dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
It took a couple months to really get this to taste like sourdough - but then it was AWESOME! I was living in Morocco at the time and was really sad to have to leave my starter when I moved back to the USA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeqJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Had a bit of trouble with the first batch, but I think that was due to my "beginner" status when it comes to sourdough bread. Worked out really well the next time - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is a good basic sourdough starter. We have made 2 loaves from the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is a good starter, but the instructions are lacking. It fails to specify the fact that because your starter is a living thing, it needs to be fed on a regular basis with the frequency depending on how often the starter is used and whether or not it is refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I have been using this starter now for just over two months. It just gets better and better each time I make bread. The bread has more complex flavors each time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Very nice starter! Makes great tasting breads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Easy recipe, easy to follow, and easy to make! My starter is still going strong! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States