Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
We've had ours going for about 6 months, and pass it back and forward between family members. It started out quite sweet, but has been slowly gaining a sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clvanderbilt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I am so glad I read the reviews before trying this! I forgot to feed the starter once and it never bounced back. I think there is very little live yeast left in it as the bread comes out very flat and dense. I have now started adding extra yeast and this seems to help. There is also not a very strong sour flavor but I hope this will improve with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
loved this so much so easy and yet so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Tried this recipe for the first time this week. I have San Fran Sourdough covered and rising right now. I can't wait to try it! OK - as for the starter it smelled super ready but after reading the reviews I don't expect super sourdough until the replacement flour and water in the original starter have fermented some more. I was told by a friend (who is a wonderful baker) that it could take several months to get really great sourdough flavour. We'll see... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This starter really does do the trick. Like another reviewer, I've visited all the sites and learned of all the failures. Poppycock. This is just great and doesn't suck up your life. The brown liquid on top is called hooch and I bet it would knock your socks off if you drank it:-) I found this to be very forgiving and haven't fed it every single day, yet it does the trick. The first batch of bread was excellent, even if it wasn't sour--the consistency was fantastic. Since all starters will taste different depending on where you live and the yeast in the air, I keep mine covered with a very clean wash cloth and secure it in place with a rubber band so yeast in the air can get in. We also use 1/2 white whole wheat flour because it has more natural yeast. If stored in the refrigerator, let the starter sit out until room temperature before using. This starter will be willed to my daughter when I leave this world. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great starter recipe! It has worked out wonderfully for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I've never made sourdough before and didn't even know where to start. This recipe helped a ton and now I have starter just sitting in my refrigerator, waiting for me for when I want to make bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjwalsh97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Easy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Ok, I need help here. I mixed the starter and it was doing well, but was going to overflow my glass bowl after the 2nd day, so I transferred it to a large plastic bowl and it got a dry skim on top and was not very active looking so I threw that out and started a new one in the plastic bowl as I thought transferring it might have messed it up. Now it looks the same. My mother always had this in her fridge and I let me go years ago and wanted to try the starter but...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
When I started making this I knew nothing about starters. After some supplemental research, I realized that not only did I have to continuously feed the starter but I had to discard half of the starter at each feeding. At first I kept feeding it and feeding it and it kept getting runnier and runnier, but I just thought it was due to my hot & humid Asian climate. There was definitely fermentation going on, but none of the bubbly froth that is supposed to happen. So I took 20 grams of the super-wet starter and added 50g of flour and 50g of warm water. I realized in the process that it is VERY important to measure by weight rather than volume. When I did this ratio, the starter became really thick but it started bubbling immediately and doubled in volume within a few hours (signs of a healthy starter!) In the end, rather than starting with 2 cups water/2 cups flour, I wish I would have started with much smaller volumes, because it doesn't need to be giant at first, and you can always grow it in size later, once the starter becomes stable and healthy. P.S. in hot & humid weather (I live in SE Asia) it should be fed 3x a day at first - morning, afternoon, and right before bed. The heat makes the yeast extra hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States