Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Lost a star for not explaining you need to feed the starter. My experience has been to always leave it out and feed it every other day, doubling it's volume each time. White flour is the best way to nurse up a starter, but once it is established and you are looking for more flavor, switch to wheat flour instead of white. You'll get a funk faster since the wheat still has the nutrients that are taken out of white. You can go back to white once you've harvested the funk from the wheat, but I never went back! Different flours will add different flavors. Very forgiving. I left it on my mom's counter for a week and it was fine. I left it for another week at my apartment and came back to grey hooch. Didn't deal with it and just left it in the fridge for another week while I was on vacation. The internet told me to scrape it off and start with just a tablespoon from the bottom that had been untouched by either the hooch or the tool(s) you used to get rid of the hooch ( I used about 10 spoons to avoid contamination). It came back just fine. It's been three months now and my sourdough bread is finally where I want it in terms of sourness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is the first time I have made a sourdough starter but so far so good! Really easy mixture to put together. I would suggest that you put your bowl on a tray or something just in case it bubbles over which mine did on about day 2 (I think the room it was in was a bit too warm) but other than that it has done exactly what it is supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I started this starter about 5 days ago and it is going great. Yes you have to feed it. To begin with, I feed twice a day 1/4 to 1/2 cup. Now feeding 1/2 cup once a day. Stirring twice a day. Plan to bake in two days. It is winter in Alabama but my starter is sitting on the counter and seems to be doing fine. I move closer to the stove when I'm cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was lots of fun to try! Made the SF sourdough yesterday and it turned out pretty good! I gave 4/5 stars because the instructions were very vague and I had a lot of unanswered questions. In the end I stirred twice a day. Fed 1/3c flour 1/3c water every morning. Kept it in the oven, that I warmed very slightly twice a day. ( it's winter here and quite chilly) I think the stirring was very important because a foamy skin would form that would probably not be so awesome after a week. I baked my sourdough on day 7, gave him a little food and let him sleep in the fridge. I'll feed him every week. How much fun was this! I can make my own sourdough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I'm new to bread making so... After lots of research, I chose this recipe for the starter. Due to the reviews I've read, I decided to feed it once a day, 1/3 cup warm water & 1/3 cup flour. Each day it did get the bubbles, the nice yeast smell & the brown liquid. I thought it was doing great (according to my research). It did rise & fall but I didn't worry too much about it since it rose back up at each feeding. I had placed it on the counter near my stove since it gets nice and warm near it when I'm cooking. I only covered it with paper towels (since it said to cover loosely). I made this starter on Friday, it's now Sunday night. I just checked on it & noticed that little fruit flies got into it. I live around lots of vegetation: trees, flowers & vegetable garden on the property so there are lots of these around. Ugh! I was so bummed. I started a new batch. I mixed it in a plastic mixing bowl then transferred to a gallon size glass jar. After thinking about what to cover it with, I chose to use press & seal plastic wrap since the jars' lid seemed too tight. I didn't press the wrap tight but just enough so the bugs can't fly in. My only concern is that I'm hoping it is not too tight. I'm going to resume the feeding tomorrow & let it sit out for 8 days before refrigeration. I will update this review with progress. I only gave 4 stars since the directions were unclear on what to cover with & the daily feedings but it's been simple & seems to be working.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is my first SD starter, but not my first time playing with yeast. This is a good recipe but you do have to feed the yeast something to keep it going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is my favorite starter recipe. After two months of using and feeding, I am quite happy with the taste of the bread. I feed the starter only as I use it. I keep it in the refrigerator and take it out the day before I want to use it. Pancakes are fluffy, bread is beautiful. I couldn't be happier. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jansin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I have read most of the comments...and this is my first time ever making a starter. Different things seem to work for different people. I never knew anything about "feeding" the starter so I did nothing but what the instructions said. My bread was FANTASTIC...my husband is a huge critic of sourdough bread and he loved it. I hope it only betters with age. My starter sat on a shelf for 8 days...liquid formed on top..I stirred it in and then made my bread. I never got it to the fridge before I used it. It had a pleasant sour smell. The bubbling had subsided a few days before I used it. I agree with some others that "feeding" the starter is when you take some out you put some in. That is how it will work for me. Hope others have as great of success as I did with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I used the receipt for the my starter, it didn't look like the video. Because the weather here is very dry, I find adding at least a cup more water is best. The end result was very good. It's like it's alive! This is my first starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Be sure to click the link under 'how to make this recipe' for a short movie containing more information. Does anyone have any ideas of how/where to store this so that your entire house does not smell sour? I'm running out of candles...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States