Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Thank you for this recipe! I have had my starter now for a month plus and it is going great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I'm going to jump a bit ahead here and give this five stars for the ease of prepartion alone. I've not tried other starters before because they've always sounded so complicated. This was so easy! Within the first 30 minutes of mixing everything together I had a bubbly ever expanding mass of goo on my hands! Ahhh! Attack of the Sourdough Starter Monster! And its an hour later and its still expanding. I'm hard pressed to keep it in a suitable container. Next time I think I'll use a leftover plastic ice cream container instead of a glass canning jar. I can't wait until this is finished! I think I'm going to try "feeding" it as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This is my very first try at sourdough starter, or making sourdough anything for that matter, and it's excellent!!! It's SO EASY, and my family LOVED the sourdough bread I made - even my picky daughter! I've used this starter in the Chocolate Chip Sourdough Muffins, as well, and am tryin the Sourdough Chocolate Cranberry Cake today, too! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
A very simple starter with clear instructions. I didn't listen to the others and it did overflow all over my stove after I replenished the flour and water after using my first cup of it. I've tried the Herman pancake recipe and a sourdough banana loaf. I can't wait to do further experiments with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was my first attempt at a starter and it worked beautifully. The bread was great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Great starter, just made my first loaf with it and turned out super! My starter was ready on day 2, so it's been fed again and is happily bubbling away. :o) After looking at all of the other starters on this site, I'm glad I chose this one. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
OK, I am jumping the gun here, but I just made this today and after just 1 hour it is bubbling away! I am so excited, cant wait to make bread with it, will keep you all posted. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Works great! I made it a few months ago and it keeps getting better and better with each loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Works great! I've had mine alive for 2 months and have made pancakes, french baquettes, San Fran sourdough and I plan to make german rye. I only wish it were more sour tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linriyum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theresa in london
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
i couldn't believe how easy this was! i considered giving only 4 stars for not explaining when/how much we need to feed, but this starter was so forgiving! i'm not entirely sure i fed it enough, but i used it to make 'san francisco sourdough' and it came out perfectly! it is now nearly a week old and i've put it in the refrigerator. i'll be using this starter again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa in london

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States