Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I have tried multiple sourdough starters and this is the first one that actually worked for me! I started it on Monday and yesterday (Thursday) I mixed up my first loaf of bread. I let it rise overnight, then baked it this morning for our breakfast. It was SO good! I can't wait until the starter develops a little more so it has even more of that delicious tangy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a very forgiving starter. Mine is several weeks old,keeps improving and keeps going even when I forget to feed it. I kept it in the kitchen when I first made it and have moved it to the refrigerator as I have plenty. I do use as pintch of sugar every time I feed it as this helps with fermentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Really easy starter. I had a layer of hooch on my starter by the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I had a little trouble with my first starter, so I threw it out and started another. They can be a little frustrating until you get the hang of it. My house was extremely warm and my starter was ready in 4 days to go into the fridge... I stirred it everyday and then fed it when I put it into the fridge. I've baked with my sourdough starter 3 times now...It's about a week 1/2 old. 1st loaf didn't work! 2nd and 3rd loaf was awsome... I used the recipe here on AR for bread machine "Plain and Simple Sourough Bread"... Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
My boyfriend loves sour sough bread so I thought I would make this. I turned out great! I live in the mountains and was afraid my house was too cold, but it turned out ok. I just made 2 loaves on the San Francisco Sourdough. It was awsesome!! I didn't need to feed it throughout the week and I would think this would hinder the fermenting and sour taste. I didn't touch mine except to move it around warmer places in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I'm having trouble with this one. The first time I think I let it sit too long (about 5-6 days) and it developed a funny color and was not bubbly (it only bubbled the first day). The second time I only let it sit for 2 days and put it in the fridge as soon as it was bubbly. I used it in the San Francisco Sourdough and while the bread baked fine it had NO sourdough flavor. So I fed the starter and have been letting it sit but again it's lost it's bubble after the first day and is starting to develop a funny brownish color (not pink or orange). Should I throw it out or try to use it?? Any suggestions? Perhaps I should find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Has worked very well for me so far! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This starter gives a great flavor but would have been helpful to know to feed it every day. I've baked 3 loaves in about 3 weeks. They had a great flavor but rose and fell. It could be that the bread recipe I used has too much yeast. And I used bread flour. I made a new starter today and will feed every day with 1/3 c. flour, 1/3 c. water and a pinch of sugar. In 8 days, I will make bread and give half the starter away before feeding it. All other recipes I've read have said to do this and maybe it will work with this recipe. Excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I don't think I'm doing mine right, because my bread never rises enough, but the flavor is great a month or two later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I let the starter age for more than a week before making my bread to attempt a more sour flavor, but the result wasn't what I expected - more like french bread. Hoping the next try will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States