Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Does the Starter continue to foam for the entire time. If so, what am I doing wrong...mine only foams up for that first day and then settles down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Very easy and very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I nursed on this starter for a week and then tried it with Becky's Sourdough I recipe. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
this was the first starter i tried to make and it was very easy to make and take care of! i took the advice of a couple of reviews and "feed" the starter 1/3 cup flour and 1/3 water and added 1tsp. of corn syrup everyday for 4 days and kept it in the oven with the light on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
great starter. easy to make and makes a great loaf in the machine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I have tried multiple sourdough starters and this is the first one that actually worked for me! I started it on Monday and yesterday (Thursday) I mixed up my first loaf of bread. I let it rise overnight, then baked it this morning for our breakfast. It was SO good! I can't wait until the starter develops a little more so it has even more of that delicious tangy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a very forgiving starter. Mine is several weeks old,keeps improving and keeps going even when I forget to feed it. I kept it in the kitchen when I first made it and have moved it to the refrigerator as I have plenty. I do use as pintch of sugar every time I feed it as this helps with fermentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Really easy starter. I had a layer of hooch on my starter by the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I had a little trouble with my first starter, so I threw it out and started another. They can be a little frustrating until you get the hang of it. My house was extremely warm and my starter was ready in 4 days to go into the fridge... I stirred it everyday and then fed it when I put it into the fridge. I've baked with my sourdough starter 3 times now...It's about a week 1/2 old. 1st loaf didn't work! 2nd and 3rd loaf was awsome... I used the recipe here on AR for bread machine "Plain and Simple Sourough Bread"... Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
My boyfriend loves sour sough bread so I thought I would make this. I turned out great! I live in the mountains and was afraid my house was too cold, but it turned out ok. I just made 2 loaves on the San Francisco Sourdough. It was awsesome!! I didn't need to feed it throughout the week and I would think this would hinder the fermenting and sour taste. I didn't touch mine except to move it around warmer places in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States