Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this recipe without modification, then 'fed' the starter once a day. After 8 days, I baked my first loaf (San Fran). There was barely an sour taste to it, so I did more research on sourdoughs. I found out that this recipe is all kinds of doomed. I highly recommend doing the research if you want a successful starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chillmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
So far this has been very easy, I have never done a started before and im kinda new to using one. I would like to know how you know when they are ready. this is day 4 and has a really strong smell. Is that normal. Please help me out. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is the first time I've gotten sourdough to actually work. Probably the tenth time I've tried. We live in a climate where, if you set out a bowl of equal parts water and flour, you will have bubbles in a couple of hours and by the next day, it's dead. Adding a bit of yeast (I only added 1 tsp) seemed to help stabilize this. I fed the dough after a few hrs and then put in frig by the same night. Waited one day and then made sourdough french bread. It actually rose and had a nice texture. I don't know how long the starter will last, but so far it looks great. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Does the Starter continue to foam for the entire time. If so, what am I doing wrong...mine only foams up for that first day and then settles down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Very easy and very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I nursed on this starter for a week and then tried it with Becky's Sourdough I recipe. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
this was the first starter i tried to make and it was very easy to make and take care of! i took the advice of a couple of reviews and "feed" the starter 1/3 cup flour and 1/3 water and added 1tsp. of corn syrup everyday for 4 days and kept it in the oven with the light on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
great starter. easy to make and makes a great loaf in the machine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I have tried multiple sourdough starters and this is the first one that actually worked for me! I started it on Monday and yesterday (Thursday) I mixed up my first loaf of bread. I let it rise overnight, then baked it this morning for our breakfast. It was SO good! I can't wait until the starter develops a little more so it has even more of that delicious tangy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a very forgiving starter. Mine is several weeks old,keeps improving and keeps going even when I forget to feed it. I kept it in the kitchen when I first made it and have moved it to the refrigerator as I have plenty. I do use as pintch of sugar every time I feed it as this helps with fermentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States