Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by haochi
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Great sourdough flavor and a great starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Mine kept getting this really nasty smell and fruit flies everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alicia allen
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is my 3rd attempt in the last 2 weeks at making this. I went back and forth about to feed or not to feed. From what I've read, it doesn't HAVE to be fed bc of the spike with the active dry yeast. The only reason I restarted it was bc I was doubting myself and shouldn't have. I didn't even start feeding it until day 3 on the most recent batch. I added a pic to the gallery and it is now day 5. Technically, to feed it you discard 1/2 of it and add flour and water in equal amounts by weight. I do not have a scale so I just discard 1/2 and stir in 1/4 cup warm water and 1/4 all purpose flour. It is still very active and rises and falls for the same amount of time daily. I also mix in the hooch, as I read many places that it can help the flavor a great deal. It smells wonderful, not much of a sour smell yet though probably because my house is very cool. I am planning on making some pancakes with the discard tomorrow. I'm super excited:) thank you for this recipe, Esther!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I am glad I read the reviews. However, I did not do so until I had already mixed two batches in 2 quart jars. I quickly located a large pickle jar and transferred both batches. I didn't know how it would turn out, but hoped for the best. Another thing I "messed up" on was to use my fine wheat flour, which is my custom, in place of the white flour. It turned out fine, so far. Others were complaining that it was not sour enough. I am fine with that. We are not sourdough fans and the only reason I am trying this is for the nutrition value, having read that wheat products not fermented are bad for the teeth. Having 5 children, I am tired of the dentist bills! (I recommend googling "cavity reversal.") I make rolls every day, so this starter will constantly be in use. I only waited 24 hours to use and it was fine. Overall, I am happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I want to try this but can I use bread flour instead of regular flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Great starter recipe! I used mine on the 7th day to make the San Francisco Sourdough Bread recipe on this site. It turned out perfect with a very definite, tangy sourdough taste. I'll keep feeding it and use it over and over. Thanks, Esther....I very much appreciate this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Vista, Texas, USA
Living In: Cleburne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I haven't tried to make any bread yet as I'm just getting my starter going. However, I've been doing a little research and thought that this information would be very helpful. Let me know. Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Cobalt, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This starter only gets better with age!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mongolia11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Lost a star for not explaining you need to feed the starter. My experience has been to always leave it out and feed it every other day, doubling it's volume each time. White flour is the best way to nurse up a starter, but once it is established and you are looking for more flavor, switch to wheat flour instead of white. You'll get a funk faster since the wheat still has the nutrients that are taken out of white. You can go back to white once you've harvested the funk from the wheat, but I never went back! Different flours will add different flavors. Very forgiving. I left it on my mom's counter for a week and it was fine. I left it for another week at my apartment and came back to grey hooch. Didn't deal with it and just left it in the fridge for another week while I was on vacation. The internet told me to scrape it off and start with just a tablespoon from the bottom that had been untouched by either the hooch or the tool(s) you used to get rid of the hooch ( I used about 10 spoons to avoid contamination). It came back just fine. It's been three months now and my sourdough bread is finally where I want it in terms of sourness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is the first time I have made a sourdough starter but so far so good! Really easy mixture to put together. I would suggest that you put your bowl on a tray or something just in case it bubbles over which mine did on about day 2 (I think the room it was in was a bit too warm) but other than that it has done exactly what it is supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States