Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I love this recipe & I did not feed the starter at all until the 4th day when I took a cup out to make bread... Bread was gone by my two kids & I before it could get cool! Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I used it at 4 days and it was very mild in flavor. It was tasty. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Smelled wonderful for first 3 days, 4th day and this is smelling more like vodka than sourdough and is very thin, more like a thin pancake batter. Do I throw it out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickieLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Hume
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Brilliant little starter I started mine with a pinch of sugar and a couple of drops of Lindersfarn mead to give it an extra little kick. Bread tasted amazing with a slight subtle twang of honey from the mead in the starter. Really gives it that extra edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hume

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haochi
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Great sourdough flavor and a great starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Mine kept getting this really nasty smell and fruit flies everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alicia allen
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is my 3rd attempt in the last 2 weeks at making this. I went back and forth about to feed or not to feed. From what I've read, it doesn't HAVE to be fed bc of the spike with the active dry yeast. The only reason I restarted it was bc I was doubting myself and shouldn't have. I didn't even start feeding it until day 3 on the most recent batch. I added a pic to the gallery and it is now day 5. Technically, to feed it you discard 1/2 of it and add flour and water in equal amounts by weight. I do not have a scale so I just discard 1/2 and stir in 1/4 cup warm water and 1/4 all purpose flour. It is still very active and rises and falls for the same amount of time daily. I also mix in the hooch, as I read many places that it can help the flavor a great deal. It smells wonderful, not much of a sour smell yet though probably because my house is very cool. I am planning on making some pancakes with the discard tomorrow. I'm super excited:) thank you for this recipe, Esther!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I am glad I read the reviews. However, I did not do so until I had already mixed two batches in 2 quart jars. I quickly located a large pickle jar and transferred both batches. I didn't know how it would turn out, but hoped for the best. Another thing I "messed up" on was to use my fine wheat flour, which is my custom, in place of the white flour. It turned out fine, so far. Others were complaining that it was not sour enough. I am fine with that. We are not sourdough fans and the only reason I am trying this is for the nutrition value, having read that wheat products not fermented are bad for the teeth. Having 5 children, I am tired of the dentist bills! (I recommend googling "cavity reversal.") I make rolls every day, so this starter will constantly be in use. I only waited 24 hours to use and it was fine. Overall, I am happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I want to try this but can I use bread flour instead of regular flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Great starter recipe! I used mine on the 7th day to make the San Francisco Sourdough Bread recipe on this site. It turned out perfect with a very definite, tangy sourdough taste. I'll keep feeding it and use it over and over. Thanks, Esther....I very much appreciate this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Vista, Texas, USA
Living In: Cleburne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States