Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I noticed that several reviews mentioned the lack of instructions to "feed" the starter. The book "The Heritage of Southern Cooking" by Camille Glenn, whom I've always greatly admired, includes a Sourdough Starter Recipe exactly like this one, with exactly the same instructions. The starter isn't fed until a portion is used. I'm making up a batch right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I am in agreement with WAHINISUZIE- the step about feeding it daily is not listed. I'm a newbie at bread making so maybe this is common knowledge for the experts - I too have had my concoction in the oven with the light on for four days with no results. I will try again and feed it this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Not bad but a pain to keep starter fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele Stuart
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I am very excited about this lol I am on day 2 and I have lots of bubbles. I read the reviews here and have decided to feed it 1/3c flour and 1/3c water and a pinch of sugar. I have read some place that feeding it once a week is fine once it's going good. Does anyone know for sure. Thanks so much Michele
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Stuart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Hi Well I just made my first ever starter. What I want to say is I understood the video to say whenever you USE a Cup of starter then replace it with a cup of flour and a cup of warm water and a pinch of sugar stir it all up, and refrigerate it until you make another loaf then replace it again the same way. if any is using a jar like the video use a larger one than a Quart jar. my dough is going to run over for sure. is this normal? All of the above is after the 4-8 day's. Please let me know. thank you. Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Malnati

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Yay!!! Finally a starter that worked for me!!!! My only suggestion is YOU MUST FEED IT EVERY DAY WHEN STARTING!!! I began mine on a Saturday, fed it 1/3 cup water and flour every day and by Wednesday it was ready to use!!! Now to check out all the recipes that are possible now that I have a great starter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I love this recipe & I did not feed the starter at all until the 4th day when I took a cup out to make bread... Bread was gone by my two kids & I before it could get cool! Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I used it at 4 days and it was very mild in flavor. It was tasty. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Smelled wonderful for first 3 days, 4th day and this is smelling more like vodka than sourdough and is very thin, more like a thin pancake batter. Do I throw it out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickieLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Hume
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Brilliant little starter I started mine with a pinch of sugar and a couple of drops of Lindersfarn mead to give it an extra little kick. Bread tasted amazing with a slight subtle twang of honey from the mead in the starter. Really gives it that extra edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hume

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States