Sourdough Starter IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
After looking at other recipes here, my wife and I decided on this one. It was very simple to make and didn't require added yeast as many others here do. The first time we used it, it wasn't quite right, but we've been using it for about 3 months since then with excellent resuts. Its got a good flavor and the dough always rises without any help from store-bought yeast. The starter itself is low maintenance and was completely unphased when I forgot to feed it for 4 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Well, this starter did not work for me!! At the start of day 3 the starter was turning a reddish colour, which I learned is not a good thing. The recipe did not specify to cool off the potato water before adding the other ingredients so perhaps my water was too hot to start with. If anyone knows what I did wrong, please let me know!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This starter worked great, and I had a nice starter after letting it sit for 4 days. I can't wait to let it age and develop even more tasty sourdough flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Only two days and already my starter is bubbly and smelling like sourdough!! I can't wait to make some bread. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I started this one and the "No commercial yeast starter" from this site on the same day, and the other one is developing faster. But it's working, and I'll update when I make my first batch of bread with each one. Update: Both of my starters smelled atrocious in less than a week and had to be thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Worked great, even though I didn't have cheesecloth. I used a loosely woven kitchen towel, and periodically removed it to check on the progress. By the third day I saw a few bubbles; by the fourth day it had a foamy texture when stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was very easy to start! It was bubbly and ready to use after only two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This did not work at all for me. I followed the directions but nothing happened. I decided to got with the yeast starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I prefer to use a potato water based sourdough starter. Maybe it's my Irish background. Mine got it's first "feeding" today. Looking forward to starting the New Year sharing sourdough bread with my friends and neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthlessma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I mashed one of the potatoes and left it with the starter. After a day it's already smelling like a starter and I can't wait to make some bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States