Sourdough Starter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
This was an easy starter to make. I used the "San Fransisco Sourdough Bread" recipe and it was delicious. Just what I've been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cave Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
I make approx. 30 loafs of bread a week during the summer for local farmers market. This is one of the best starters out there. And so do I. I make about 4 batchs of starter per week. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was certainly easy to do. The first batch of starter made a very good loaf of bread. However, the amount of sugar (1/4 cup) called for to "feed" the starter seemed to be too much. The second loaf of bread turned out to be way too sweet. I will try reducing the amount of sugar in the next "feeding". I used the starter in both hand mixed and kneeded bread as well as a bread machine. In both cases the starter worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
Really easy and quick...I find that in the first few days the starter goes a little crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I've used this recipe many times. It's not only better than the others I tried, it the quickest also. I've been able to keep the same started going for months, but had to get a larger glass jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAVEWOMAN884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This recipe seems to be a bit overactive. I would use less commercial yeast in the future, and feed smaller amounts. It may work well for someone baking often with more space for it to grow than the jar, but it's too much for me. I have also found that when I do mini-feedings, and I use cool water (not cold) it works fine, and does what I want it to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I have tried many sour dough starters, but none have worked. This one worked like a dream, did not go moldy, and gave a lovely sour taste to the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Didn't give a sourdough taste to my bread at all. My bread turned out pretty good, but it tasted like an average white bread. Perhaps the starter should have been mixed once or twice a day---I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Simple and easy...I made the San Francisco Sourdough bread. Great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
good basic and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States