Sourdough Starter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I had never made sourdough starter before and this made some perfect starter. I started it on Sunday night and added 1/4 c flour & 1/4 c water for 2 mornings. Today, Wednesday I made the Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread from this site and it was delicious. I know that the bread will be better the longer the starter sits so I can't wait to make my next 20 batches of bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I had never made sourdough bread before and this worked great. I'm even making my second loaf today and hoping for a more sour flavor(I read the older the sourdough starter, the stronger the flavor).I'm working through all the bread machine recipes on this site and for my first sourdough bread, I used "Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread." My boyfriend and I liked the combination so well, that I'm using it again for today's loaf! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burns Boiled Water

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
great starter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I thought this was a great starter. I used it with the San Fransisco Sourdough Bread recipe. It turned out great. It is quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bulls Gap, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I have tried many sour dough starters, but none have worked. This one worked like a dream, did not go moldy, and gave a lovely sour taste to the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
first time i made bread came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I haven't tried this one yet but I am curious if I can use whole wheat flour instead of all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This recipe seems to be a bit overactive. I would use less commercial yeast in the future, and feed smaller amounts. It may work well for someone baking often with more space for it to grow than the jar, but it's too much for me. I have also found that when I do mini-feedings, and I use cool water (not cold) it works fine, and does what I want it to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This is my first attempt with a sourdough starter - or any starter. It was easy to do and makes a great loaf - really, really tasty with the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I've used this recipe many times. It's not only better than the others I tried, it the quickest also. I've been able to keep the same started going for months, but had to get a larger glass jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAVEWOMAN884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States