Sourdough Starter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Awesome starter! I also used this to go with San Francisco Sourdough Bread (this site) and made two large loaves. They turned out beautiful and delicious. I currently have more starter going!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherkelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I have been looking for a good starter for sourdough bread. I have made a couple loaves from this stater and they have tasted absolutely wonderful. I let it sit on the counter a little longer than you recommended but that is because I like truely sour sourdough bread. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Great starter easy and forward to follow I've used this twice both with good results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
It would be impossible to mess this up. This starter is foolproof! I personally think that yeast is overpriced, and although this is just making a strain of the store bought yeast, I'm OK with that because I make so much bread. I have to wait 9 days to use the grape fermented starter so I'm thrilled to find this quick fix for the sourdough lovers at my house.*UPDATE* I just let this starter bubble up overnight and then spent all day baking with it and feeding it and baking some more. It made lovely pancakes, scrumptious bread and I have plenty of starter left in the fridge to make lots more yummies tomorrow! WIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I love the simplisity of this. It smells stronger the longer you leave it. I have to say that I am new to making sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djirsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA
Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
The starter itself worked out well. I used it to make San Francisco Sourdough Bread from this site and while it wasn't as sour as I would have hoped, it still had a good flavor. I only let mine sit for 48 hours but next time will try to let it sit for up for five days for that extra sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
The first batch I made with this starter was fine, the next batch tasted a little off (not enough to keep my family from eating it) and it smelled like alcohol. And I didn't even make a third batch because the starter smelled like nail polish remover! I don't think I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This starter worked perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lceballos105

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very easy to make and ferments nicely. I had mine rest at room temp about 36 hours before making my first batch of dough, the dough turned out beautifully. I put the rest in the fridge and plan to make more and continue feeding it. A nice base.* Update, I have continued to make bread from this starter recipe, and I am still loving it, as do the friends and family I made it for. I forgot about it for a while though and now I think I have to start over again, Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Made great starter! I had it almost a month and it made great bread. I'm so sad, I forgot to stir and feed for 2 days durring thanksgiving and it molded. I had put it on top of my fridge when my company was here and I forgot about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States