Sourdough Starter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Awesome starter! I also used this to go with San Francisco Sourdough Bread (this site) and made two large loaves. They turned out beautiful and delicious. I currently have more starter going!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Roberts Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I have been looking for a good starter for sourdough bread. I have made a couple loaves from this stater and they have tasted absolutely wonderful. I let it sit on the counter a little longer than you recommended but that is because I like truely sour sourdough bread. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Douglas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Great starter easy and forward to follow I've used this twice both with good results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
It would be impossible to mess this up. This starter is foolproof! I personally think that yeast is overpriced, and although this is just making a strain of the store bought yeast, I'm OK with that because I make so much bread. I have to wait 9 days to use the grape fermented starter so I'm thrilled to find this quick fix for the sourdough lovers at my house.*UPDATE* I just let this starter bubble up overnight and then spent all day baking with it and feeding it and baking some more. It made lovely pancakes, scrumptious bread and I have plenty of starter left in the fridge to make lots more yummies tomorrow! WIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I love the simplisity of this. It smells stronger the longer you leave it. I have to say that I am new to making sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djirsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA
Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
The starter itself worked out well. I used it to make San Francisco Sourdough Bread from this site and while it wasn't as sour as I would have hoped, it still had a good flavor. I only let mine sit for 48 hours but next time will try to let it sit for up for five days for that extra sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
The first batch I made with this starter was fine, the next batch tasted a little off (not enough to keep my family from eating it) and it smelled like alcohol. And I didn't even make a third batch because the starter smelled like nail polish remover! I don't think I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This starter worked perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyzette Pena Ceballos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very easy to make and ferments nicely. I had mine rest at room temp about 36 hours before making my first batch of dough, the dough turned out beautifully. I put the rest in the fridge and plan to make more and continue feeding it. A nice base.* Update, I have continued to make bread from this starter recipe, and I am still loving it, as do the friends and family I made it for. I forgot about it for a while though and now I think I have to start over again, Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Made great starter! I had it almost a month and it made great bread. I'm so sad, I forgot to stir and feed for 2 days durring thanksgiving and it molded. I had put it on top of my fridge when my company was here and I forgot about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States