Sourdough Starter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I was reluctant to make bread from scratch, but now I'm hooked! Thank you so much for this recipe. In order to keep the starter in perpetual motion, it's important to replace the starter quantity used that day with a fresh batch of flour and water (equal amounts, for example 1 cup water and 1 cup flour) with 2 pinches of sugar mixed in. My "baby" likes to nap in the oven with the oven light on time to time. Get a feel for your kitchen. I actually glance at my thermometer and barometer for a quick reading. Experiment, record and see what works best for you. Every kitchen is different; and your kitchen's atmosphere is different everyday. ;) Remember: the more time your starter has to sit, the more characteristic the flavor. Lastly, don't be afraid of that wonderful, powerful odor and layer of brown liquid. This will give you that coveted sourdough taste! Yummy! I've been keeping this original going for almost 6 weeks now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I absolutely love this starter. I have used it to make many loaves of sourdough bread and it works perfectly every time. It's so easy to make and it keeps in the fridge for a long time. I've had mine for at least 6 months! I'm making bread bowls for broccoli cheddar soup next. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Ardizzone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This worked wonderful for me made bread to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I've just hit the two-year anniversary with this starter, and I think it's going to be a long-term relationship. It's easy to start and very forgiving with its care. I'll go months with out feeding it, dig it out from the back of the fridge and get reinspired, dump off most of the alcohol, stir it up, feed it, it gets happy, and a day later I have some very yummy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Awesome my family and I love it. I even changed it some by adding bacon bits when I went to bake it and it was terrific. We also added garlic in this last time and it was great. I love sour dough bread and haven't been able to have it for years because of no starter. I am so glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I have now made two loaves with the bread. Solid flavor and good rise to the bread. It's flourishing when fed just once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nataliem60

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Village, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
How long do you keep it in the refrigerator?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I rated this recipe with three stars because the bread didn't have a sourdough taste. Adding a quarter cup of sugar to feed the batch was way too much, now the bread is sweet not sour. However, it was easy to make and the bread was tasty, just not a sourdough bread in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Easy, good, don't refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This is the first starter I have tried and it was super easy. I have had this starter going for a couple weeks and it has given me many wonderful loaves of bread (used the San Francisco Sourdough recipe) and looking forward to more. I used part white and part wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States