Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This makes the BEST sourdough bread. I was soo thankful to find it again on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I've made this bread before but always with starter given to me. What container is best for the initial starter. (The one that sits on the counter for 5days). Several reviewers talked about exploding tops. What did you use. Thanks- can't wait to start making loaves again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This is a fantastic sour doughbread recipe. I received this starter from my sister and then lost the recipe. It makes super cinnamon buns with a glaze frosting. LoriCanada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This was simple and when used with her recipe for sourdough it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is a really good starter, but like with anything that is fermenting, you cannot seal it up tight, ever... One of the byproducts of fermenting is carbon dioxide, which occurs with, wine, beer, sauerkraut, yogurt (slightly), kefir, starters using flour, and so on. While not due to any fermenting, the bubbles in soda are the same carbon dioxide. Get the book "Wild Fermentation" for more information on fermenting. Great book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChileHead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
When I first tried this, it was great! Now I must be doing something wrong. The dough is not rising as before. When it does rise, it will fall before I cook it. It is heavy and dense. Am I not kneading it correctly? I hope someone can give me some pointers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have used this starter 2 times and my sour dough bread came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I followed the directions but sure had my doubts day after day about this starter! It never looked like it was doing anything. But it was perfect for using in Sourdough Bread I by Becky Richardson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This makes delicious bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonie Morgan Ricks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States