Sourdough Starter - Wheat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
amazing. super easy, lots of light delicious whole grain bread! i added a few organic unwashed grapes to the starter for a day or two then took them out. i use sprouted spelt flour and it's delicious. i often make it with raisins and cinnamon also. thank you so much!! after reading michael pollan's recipe, i'm so happy to have found yours first or i would have been too intimidated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I made this a couple of weeks ago but used half quantities throughout so as not to end up with so much starter. It worked perfectly and has produced super bread. No yeast is needed for this starter or for the bread. This is so good I shall be using it and passing it on to friends as well. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I'm gonna give this a try. I mixed it all together and I will update my review after a couple weeks. I was looking for a starter that was natural yeast and this sounded like it was it. Does anyone know if there is a way to substitute starter in all recipes that call for yeast?UPDATE: I made sourdough bread and it is awesome. Now time to try pancakes, rolls... etc..... Thank you for posting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
this is wonderful. followed it exactly except I was out of honey so had to add a pinch of sugar. I can't believe it is as seasoned as it tastes in just a week and a half. Just made my first loaf of bread with it and it came out perfect. used the 'plain and simple sourdough bread' from this site. kneaded by hand, 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes in the oven and it is perfect. truly a great starter. love the wild sour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
The whole wheat starter is great. No store bought yeast needed. Believe it or not, the stuff floating around in the air is enough to produce a great sour dough starter and, according to sour dough aficionados, the only way to make "real" sour dough. Just take care of the yeast, no metal, anywhere from 60 to 80 degrees F temp is the best for beginning the starter. If it is too hot you can get weird things growing, too cold, well it just takes a while to get going. Follow the directions and feed your starter. Store in the refrigerator once it is going and feed every week to keep it alive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This starter works well with nature occuring yeast. It does not use store bought yeast. It produces a great bread as long as you baby the starter like it states in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divemistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Followed instructions and starter produced a heavy loaf that did not rise. Tried a different recipe that included throwing out half and "feeding" for several days and it worked much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Just found this recipe but wondered if yeast is not used or was it omitted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pakenham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States