Sourdough Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Classic recipe! I threw in some vanilla bean and dried blueberries instead of the apple pie spice. Really fluffy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasarasara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Light and fluffy! I used baking powder instead of the cream of tarter. Taste is delicate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe! I have been looking for sourdough recipes since I developed my own starter (equal parts flour and water, fed daily for 5 days then refrigerated and fed weekly). I used baking powder instead of cream of tartar, and I used coarse sea salt in place of regular salt. I topped with milk as suggested and added brown rock sugar. The taste is incredible! Even my husband ate them, and he is very picky about baked goods. This is a great way to use my sourdough starter, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is a delicious way to use some of my favorite Sourdough Starter. I've made this recipe twice in four days already. Today I used 1 tsp cinnamon and after blending in the butter, I stirred in 2 Tbsp milk and 1 small (peeled & chopped) apple and the results were amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I added some blueberries...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KSCOOKIE
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Love this recipe! I make scones every time baking day rolls around with my sourdough starter. I use part whole wheat flour and add about 3/4 cup buttermilk with the starter. Also, I divide the dough in half and add mini chocolate chips to one half and dried fruit to the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSCOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Wonderful and easy. I made them using pumpkin pie spice instead of apple pie spice. Turn out great. Going to try them with the apple pie spice and some apple chuncks next. I think there are endless possibilities with this basic recipe. Always loves to find new ways to use my sourdough starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
These were yummy, tender and rose high. I followed the recipe except used 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 bread flour and added about 1/4 C of whole milk to the dough. Everyone's starter is going to vary in moisture content, so you may need to tweak this part and add more liquid to the dough to make it come together. Before baking I brushed with milk and sprinkled heavily with raw sugar (demerara). I think any kind of sugar would add a pleasantly crunchy top. I also baked them at night and re-warmed them in a toaster oven for breakfast. Love that spice! We had jam but ended up eating them plain as they were sooo good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
this was delicious, i added the optional 2 tbs of milk cuz it was too dry, but then it was ok. these taste especially good if u put sweet thing like chocolate chips and dried cranberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Not bad at all. I didn't have apple pie spice so used a mixture of cinnamon, cloves, allspice, etc., and then I put cinnamon sugar on the top. I think I'll add some fruit next time for some extra texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States