Sourdough Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KSCOOKIE
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Love this recipe! I make scones every time baking day rolls around with my sourdough starter. I use part whole wheat flour and add about 3/4 cup buttermilk with the starter. Also, I divide the dough in half and add mini chocolate chips to one half and dried fruit to the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSCOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is a delicious way to use some of my favorite Sourdough Starter. I've made this recipe twice in four days already. Today I used 1 tsp cinnamon and after blending in the butter, I stirred in 2 Tbsp milk and 1 small (peeled & chopped) apple and the results were amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Light and fluffy! I used baking powder instead of the cream of tarter. Taste is delicate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
These were yummy, tender and rose high. I followed the recipe except used 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 bread flour and added about 1/4 C of whole milk to the dough. Everyone's starter is going to vary in moisture content, so you may need to tweak this part and add more liquid to the dough to make it come together. Before baking I brushed with milk and sprinkled heavily with raw sugar (demerara). I think any kind of sugar would add a pleasantly crunchy top. I also baked them at night and re-warmed them in a toaster oven for breakfast. Love that spice! We had jam but ended up eating them plain as they were sooo good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe! I have been looking for sourdough recipes since I developed my own starter (equal parts flour and water, fed daily for 5 days then refrigerated and fed weekly). I used baking powder instead of cream of tartar, and I used coarse sea salt in place of regular salt. I topped with milk as suggested and added brown rock sugar. The taste is incredible! Even my husband ate them, and he is very picky about baked goods. This is a great way to use my sourdough starter, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I'VE MADE THESE SCONES SEVERAL TIMES WITH DIFFERENT TYPES OF FLOUR. ALL HAVE TURNED OUT GREAT. OUR FAVORITE IS WHOLE RYE FLOUR. THE BAKING TIME IS USUALLY MUCH SHORTER THAN NOTED IN RECIPE, USUALLY ABOUT 1/2... SO JUST GO BY LOOK AND FEEL OF THE SCONES. IT'S ALSO A GREAT WAY TO USE UP LEFT OVER SOURDOUGH STARTER. ADDING A HANDFUL OF DRIED FRUIT PIECES ALSO MAKES IT DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I added some blueberries...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Wonderful and easy. I made them using pumpkin pie spice instead of apple pie spice. Turn out great. Going to try them with the apple pie spice and some apple chuncks next. I think there are endless possibilities with this basic recipe. Always loves to find new ways to use my sourdough starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Being new to sourdough, having only made sourdough bread, I wanted a simple recipe for my first sourdough recipe outside of bread making. The positive reviews encouraged me as there are quite a few sourdough recipes of various yummy things out there! What I liked about the recipe is that the ingredients are simple so most of the time you already have the ingredients in the pantry (and its a basic recipe so you can change your additions each time with confidence. I changed the number of servings to eight and they still came out lovely! It is a easy, quick and delicious way to use the excess starter. I left out the spice and instead added fresh dates broken up into pieces which gave a lovely flavour and blended nicely into the scone. My dough was a little dry so I added some kefir milk and brushed the top of the scone with kefir milk (didnt add the sugar). They rose beautifully, browned nicely and even formed a little crust and cracking as bread would on the surface. Light, fluffy with a lovely flavour! Moist enough and flavourful enough to grab one the go, not needing any filling or even butter! Great, reliable recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Will not disappoint. Really good. I added some raisins, I added a little bit of cinnamon,a sprinkle of nutmeg and touch of cardamom because I did not have apple pie spice. I probably did not add more that a teaspoon of the three combined. I warmed the butter to make it easier to mix and then whisked in the milk to the hot butter, before adding. It was not too dry. It is a recipe that I will look forward to making again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States