Sourdough Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Wonderful and easy. I made them using pumpkin pie spice instead of apple pie spice. Turn out great. Going to try them with the apple pie spice and some apple chuncks next. I think there are endless possibilities with this basic recipe. Always loves to find new ways to use my sourdough starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
These were really dry.. not sure why. I don't think I'll ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by KSCOOKIE
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Love this recipe! I make scones every time baking day rolls around with my sourdough starter. I use part whole wheat flour and add about 3/4 cup buttermilk with the starter. Also, I divide the dough in half and add mini chocolate chips to one half and dried fruit to the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSCOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I added some blueberries...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is a delicious way to use some of my favorite Sourdough Starter. I've made this recipe twice in four days already. Today I used 1 tsp cinnamon and after blending in the butter, I stirred in 2 Tbsp milk and 1 small (peeled & chopped) apple and the results were amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe! I have been looking for sourdough recipes since I developed my own starter (equal parts flour and water, fed daily for 5 days then refrigerated and fed weekly). I used baking powder instead of cream of tartar, and I used coarse sea salt in place of regular salt. I topped with milk as suggested and added brown rock sugar. The taste is incredible! Even my husband ate them, and he is very picky about baked goods. This is a great way to use my sourdough starter, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Delicious! I used chai spice blend instead. My kids and hubby gobbled them up! I did, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Light and fluffy! I used baking powder instead of the cream of tarter. Taste is delicate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States