Sourdough Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Very good! I followed the recipe as is, except drizzled a powdered sugar glaze over them after they were baked. These were moist and fluffy - Kids and hubby both enjoyed them. The apple pie flavor was a bit subtle for my liking, next time I might try to boost it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I have just made these today, oh my! They're so moist and fluffy and delicious. I added sultanas and also the milk. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I have made these 3 times now and they always come out great. I also add some dried blueberry or cranberry. They are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
These were very good! I am new to the whole sourdough starter, and was looking to try different recipes. I was surprised they didn't need any eggs. I made a half batch and used 3/4 cup white wheat flour and 1/2 cup AP flour. Oh, didn't have apple pie spice, so i just sprinkled pumpkin pie spice in the batter. I made a glaze to put on top once cooled.(used baking powder insteae of cream of tarter- didn't have any) Very fluffy scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Not bad at all. I didn't have apple pie spice so used a mixture of cinnamon, cloves, allspice, etc., and then I put cinnamon sugar on the top. I think I'll add some fruit next time for some extra texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Classic recipe! I threw in some vanilla bean and dried blueberries instead of the apple pie spice. Really fluffy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasarasara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I ommitted the spice, and spread with a light glaze while still warm. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
this was delicious, i added the optional 2 tbs of milk cuz it was too dry, but then it was ok. these taste especially good if u put sweet thing like chocolate chips and dried cranberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Finally a way to use up my starter that I can do quickly and with little mess! Made with pumpkin pie spice rather than apple; probably will increase spice amount next time. PS Do not save some aside to bake a few days later, the starter mix will get moldy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These are delicious. The apple pie spice (which I didn't have, but mixed myself using a recipe on this web site) lends a very delicate flavor. I only give 4 stars because the bottoms burned. I'm not an experienced enough baker to know if it's that the heat was too high in the oven, but I make a lot of cookies, etc., and haven't burned the bottoms of anything before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States