Sourdough Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Will not disappoint. Really good. I added some raisins, I added a little bit of cinnamon,a sprinkle of nutmeg and touch of cardamom because I did not have apple pie spice. I probably did not add more that a teaspoon of the three combined. I warmed the butter to make it easier to mix and then whisked in the milk to the hot butter, before adding. It was not too dry. It is a recipe that I will look forward to making again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Super easy and a great way to use up excess starter. Used baking powder instead of cream of tartar, halved recipe and made them savoury by skipping the sugar and adding a pinch of cayenne and mustard to the flour mix then grated cheddar and minced spring onions along with the sourdough starter. Topped with grated cheese and cooked for ten minutes and they are FAB. Will be making again and again playing with the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Being new to sourdough, having only made sourdough bread, I wanted a simple recipe for my first sourdough recipe outside of bread making. The positive reviews encouraged me as there are quite a few sourdough recipes of various yummy things out there! What I liked about the recipe is that the ingredients are simple so most of the time you already have the ingredients in the pantry (and its a basic recipe so you can change your additions each time with confidence. I changed the number of servings to eight and they still came out lovely! It is a easy, quick and delicious way to use the excess starter. I left out the spice and instead added fresh dates broken up into pieces which gave a lovely flavour and blended nicely into the scone. My dough was a little dry so I added some kefir milk and brushed the top of the scone with kefir milk (didnt add the sugar). They rose beautifully, browned nicely and even formed a little crust and cracking as bread would on the surface. Light, fluffy with a lovely flavour! Moist enough and flavourful enough to grab one the go, not needing any filling or even butter! Great, reliable recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I tweaked this recipe to make a more traditional english scone to be served with jam and cream, by omitting the apple pie spice and replacing the 1/2 cup sugar with only 1 teaspoon of sugar (as my starter is already quite sweet). Also, my starter is thick so I needed to add about 1/4 cup of milk to make the dough come together. I also cut the dough into small rounds, but forgot to decrease the baking time (oops!). Nevertheless, these were a huge hit at a baby shower and several people have asked for the recipe and for their own sourdough starter. This is a very easy recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
So good! I made this with Whole Wheat, salt, Baking Powder, Baking Soda, Sugar, Coconut Oil, English Lavender and Lemon-Balm Mint, and Sourdough Starter. They turned out perfect, moist and slightly dense, just as they should be! I cut the dough into eight squares, and then cut each square into four triangles. Ending up with 32 mini scones, perfect size for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
delicious! due to another's comment on flour i used 1/2 spelt flour and not bread flour, i usually add vital gluten to my unbleached flour. i brushed tops with buttermilk and put craisins on the top. no sugar on top. these are great! thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I have been looking for a sourdough scone recipe and was so happy to find this one! I admit I haven't tried it as written--I don't keep apple pie spice in the house. Instead, I added 1/2 cup of finely chopped walnuts and the rind of 3 lemons. I used the juice from the lemons to brush on the top of the scones before adding sugar crystals to the top of the scones. Lemon-Walnut Scones were scrumptious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I'VE MADE THESE SCONES SEVERAL TIMES WITH DIFFERENT TYPES OF FLOUR. ALL HAVE TURNED OUT GREAT. OUR FAVORITE IS WHOLE RYE FLOUR. THE BAKING TIME IS USUALLY MUCH SHORTER THAN NOTED IN RECIPE, USUALLY ABOUT 1/2... SO JUST GO BY LOOK AND FEEL OF THE SCONES. IT'S ALSO A GREAT WAY TO USE UP LEFT OVER SOURDOUGH STARTER. ADDING A HANDFUL OF DRIED FRUIT PIECES ALSO MAKES IT DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Very good! I followed the recipe as is, except drizzled a powdered sugar glaze over them after they were baked. These were moist and fluffy - Kids and hubby both enjoyed them. The apple pie flavor was a bit subtle for my liking, next time I might try to boost it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I have just made these today, oh my! They're so moist and fluffy and delicious. I added sultanas and also the milk. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States