Sourdough Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was easy to follow and delivered 2 great little loaves of bread. I did vary the recipe a bit. I changed the final cup of bread flour to 1/2 cup of bread flour and 1/2 cup of corn meal. It was a hit at dinner with friends. Nice dense, flavorful, slightly sweet rye. I gave the recipe and starter out as take homes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Question-Are you supposed to add the first ingredients to 1 cup of starter or are you supposed to add the ingredients to your starter and then use 1 cup of it? I did the latter, and the bread turned out okay, but it only made one small loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I found this recipe unbakeable. My starter works well in other recipes, so I did not expect any trouble. However, the first rise was minimal, I had to knead in an additional cup of flour so the dough didn't stick to the counter, there was nothing to punch down, and after letting rise for more than four hours I was still left with a lifeless slab of ingredients. Won't make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I found it dry, sharp sour with no sweet to overcome my 3yr. Sour dough starter. I did put onion in place of caraway. I cooked it 35 min. in 350 oven and it was over done. I will look for another recipe because my wife loves rye bread but I need to at least get close to what she buys to make it for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. It is so simple to put it together the night before and the next morning it is ready to complete. It is the easiest sourdough recipe I have ever used and it is very consistant final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
really good! I have a 33 year old starter,so I have been using sourdough for quite a number of years.I only made a couple changes.. one, I added one package of yeast to the 1/4 cup water, and I just added the first ingredients to my starter and let it sit for an hour or so, cause I didn't know I was gona make this.I did use someones suggestion that onion be added, so I used dry chopped onion in the bread and sprinkled some on the baking pan. I did an egg wash,( one whole egg with a tsp. of water, mixed) and brushed it on the bread before baking, then added a sprinkling of caraway seed. It was really good.Its a real keeper! I made one big fat loaf instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This was my first sourdough rye bread, so it was a real treat. I added onion powder (about 2 tsp.), when it was time to mix the dough and sprinkled onion flakes over the greased pans. It's marvelous toasted & buttered & topped w/ swiss cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Since I've been given a sourdough starter, I've been making sourdoughs like crazy so the starter doesn't take over my fridge. This is the best of the whole wheat ones I've tried. It rose nicely, but that probably has something to do with me kneading the heck out of it and also me being patient with the dough. I read James Beard's advice about sourdough rye, and he says to let it rise for 2-3 hours on each rise. I didn't let this loaf go that long, but pretty close. Anyway, I recommend this one to folks who like rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This was excellent bread. My nephew who refuses to eat store bought rye even loved it. The sourness of the bread will depend on your starter, mine is very sour. Thank you Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I've been making this bread for over a year. It's AWSOME! Dense, rich, heavy, and SOUR :-) when done correctly. It's gooey and sticky to knead when first mixed together but well worth all the trouble. I use a GoldRush brand sourdough starter for this which has been working for over two years. Give this a try! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States