Sourdough Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This is delicious bread. I was worried because it did not rise much (I'm pretty sure my starter is a bit neglected) and I thought I would end up with hard-as-rock loaves. But, no! I got two small loaves that have a nice, bold flavor and good texture. I'm going to take better care of the starter and try this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
The texture was very similar to my sourdough starter and I ended up with something that sort of tastes of rye bread but has a poor texture and is barely edible. Not sure what I'm doing wrong. I'm using a dark rye flour - could that be the problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I've made this three times now with great success each time. Minor variants like honey instead of sugar, one loaf instead of two were easy to implement. This bread is rapidly becoming a staple in our house - - the taste is amazing, and like nothing store-bought. I do spend a lot of time kneading and my starter is very active. I'm relatively new to sourdough, but not to bread, so don't consider this a difficult recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I found this recipe to be very bland in taste. I had to add almost 1/2c. more(rye) flour to be able to handle in order to knead. On day 2,in my second rise just before baking my dough was too relaxed and I ended up with a very flat loaf. I got good crumb, but no oven spring. seems like 350Fdeg. is too low a temp. Think I will find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Wow, this did not turn out at all. I've had great experience with Peter Reinhart's recipes, as well as recipes from King Arthur, but this just didn't work for me at all. A serious disappointment after all the time I invested in it, but shame on me I guess. I'll stick to my normal channels from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
About a year ago, I decided to bake only true sourdough from starters derived from "wild" or natural yeasts. I found a wonderful yeast and began baking. I had some early successes and disappointments. Then I discovered this recipe to my great satisfaction. Although this rye bread is what drew me to the recipe, I am using it for a base recipe upon which I can easily deviate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I'm frustrated with the way this recipe is written. It may work wonderfully for an experienced sourdough baker, but to someone new to the process it's not helpful at all. I tried this as the first bread with my new rye starter and, after a complete failure (well, not complete - I turned it into some lovely sourdough rye crackers) I dove in and did more research on sourdough baking. I realize now that what the recipe author intends is for the baker to make a sourdough "sponge" the night before baking. It's too bad the recipe never mentions that word, or I'd have looked into what a sponge was sooner. As directed, I fed my starter the night before but I fed my *whole* starter, not simply taking out a cup then and making a sponge. The steps for doing this are completely unclear for anyone who is unfamiliar with the ins and outs of sourdough breads and really ought to be clarified. NOW, I have a sponge sitting on my counter and will try again the proper way tomorrow. Lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Recently a neighbor gave me a cup of 100+sourdough starter! It has worked well so I tried this rye recipe with it. Success! Next time I'll add a 1/2 tsp baking soda to get loaf less flat; mine did not look like picture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessi
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Really, really yummy! I followed the directions exactly, and used Sourdough Starter II on this site. I got a really nice crust by placing a pan on the bottom of the oven and filling it with boiling water to create steam... left it in for about 10 minutes, then dumped the water. Delicious crust and a soft, chewy bread. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Wonderful flavour and texture and it rose perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States