Sourdough Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These were amazing. I was a little concerned the sourdough taste would be overwhelming (my starter is a very strong one). However, I was pleasantly surprised. These were light, fluffy, and had an amazing flavor. I did add a little flour as my batter was so thin that I'm not sure it would have made crepes, and I added about a teaspoon of vanilla. With syrup these were some of the best pancakes that I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellowsnikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
My wife noticed the difference. For a moment I thought it was bad, but she said they were different good!! Good recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senor Arturo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala, Guatemala, Guatemala
Living In: Suisun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I used a full cup of starter so increased the milk to 1/2 cup and the sugar to 2 Tablespoons for fear the kids would not like these too sour. Made eight beautiful, evenly cooked pancakes. I measured out the batter with a 1/3 measuring cup. The kids begged for more, and I enjoyed them as well. A bit sweeter than Krusteez, but I liked that, and the sourdough tang was definitely there, but it was not overpowering. I will make these again. Oh, and I should mention I've never had sourdough pancakes before! Thanks for the great first experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Stars and dots don't line up, so hopefully I'm giving this 5 stars! Easy and yummy - especially with fresh blueberries on top! Followed others suggestion of adding additional flour until batter is desired consistency. Great way to use sourdough starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
A Keeper. Made them this morning for my Uncle and I and he just loved them. I thought from the rest of the reviews they would be thin like crepes, but heaven's no and just delicious. The only flour in these is the flour in the starter. I made my first batch of starter from a Family Recipe yesterday and used it this morning. So, old starter may have had a stronger sourdough flavor. I made these using my very thick gloppy starter, so the 3/4 cup may have been a cup full or almost. This isn't a science either. I use a cast iron griddle that covers 2 stove burners and used my 2oz Stainless Scoop as a measure. I got 9 pancakes 4 1/2- 5" pancakes. My picky adult Son said these are good Mom. Keep this recipe. They did puff up in the centers and just like all pancakes flattened down as they cooled a bit. This recipe was very easy and quick to make and no problems, and certainly these pancakes are not flat. Different starters such as the runny ones will make a difference, in that case then add a bit of flour to a thicker consistency. Flavor and texture are nearly as good as any other pancake on the market.We ususally always use Krusteaz and I have to thin that alot to get the batter to spread out. This is a Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I did NOT like this at all. It definately was waaayyy too thin. I had to add flour as well. Different taste, not at all bad. After I added flour, they didn't burn and stick, and actualy rose up to a nice thick pancake. Doesn't make too many though, you'd have to double the recipe at least for more than 2 or 3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
My husband loved these!! He said it was the best sourdough pancake he had ever had. I thought they were pretty good. There are a few comments that they are thin but a true sourdough pancake is meant to be thin. We ate them with strawberry jam and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
The perfect thin pancake. I did not add the water since my starter was thin already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Nice sourdough flavor and quick to mix up. The batter DID seem a little thin, so I added a scant 1/4 cup of flour. They turned out great! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States