Sourdough Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I love these. The only I would change is less baking soda. The baking soda flavor is a bit too strong for me. Otherwise, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These pancakes came out great. My starter is quite thin so I added about 1/4 cup flour. They puffed up just like normal pancakes. I made 5 pancakes from one batch (about 4" each) so most people will probably want to double or triple the recipe. They tasted just like soft pretzels to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I agree with others that this recipe needs some flour added to it. I didn't measure, I just added till it looked right. This would really depend on your starter, though, I think, as thinner starters would need more flour than thicker ones. I added cinnamon and nutmeg to mine. My husband thinks they're fantastic, but while I think they're good, I don't think they're astounding. I will keep making them cause a pancake's a pancake and these taste like pancakes, so...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is a perfect sourdough pancake recipe!!! Sourdough pancakes are fairly thin to begin with, so please don't expect the super fluffy, thick buttermilk kind! I used starter that is about a year old and this yielded a very pleasant sour taste. Per my husband's request I added vanilla extract and cinnamon to the batter for "Christmasy" pancakes. Thank you! Made for Christmas morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Good, very easy. These have a very distinct flavor from the sourdough starter, but my husband and I really liked them, especially with a little strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
My Alaska sourdough husband loves thin pancakes and I like a little thicker. We both went back for seconds on this recipe. I adjusted my starter just a wee bit thicker than he prefers and was nervouse they might be too thick for his liking. However, when I added the dry ingredients to the batter, and the reaction was like a science project bubbling lava, I knew the end product would make us both happy. I can quit searching for the perfect sourdough pancake recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Granted, a FABULOUS STARTER, to start with helps to make fabulous sourdough pancakes. So that said, this recipe is so easy at fabulous "dollar-sized" to 2-inch-sized sourdough pancakes. I used only 2 1/2 Tbsp POWDERED milk as opposed to the 1/3 cup INSTANT non-fat dry milk (I believe the original recipe probably meant). Also, next time I'll cut back slightly on the salt, as I thought the batter was just a tad salty, but still delicious. I am not a white sugar fan in breads (I far prefer honey) and I only added 1 1/2 TEASPOONS honey; that little touch of honey was perfect for me! I ate every one and loved it! (Didn't make as many as the original recipe stated.) More like 6 regular-sized, but like I said the dollar-sized make the best pancakes IMHO. Thanks so much for such an easy, fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharonannemail

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This did not work out well for me. Who knows why--this recipe has mixed reviews so I know it's not just me. I'm not a novice using starter or making pancakes from starter but I'm not willing to try this recipe again to see where I went wrong as I can't afford to waste ingredients. I'll switch back over to Herman Pancakes, which are also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
These were o.k., I found them a little dry and, perhaps on account of my young sourdough, not very flavorful. I did not have a problem with them being too thin, that said, each sourdough is different leading to different results).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Doubled this recipe (following it to a 'T') to make about a dozen pancakes. I've been looking for ways to use my sourdough starter other than for making bread, so thought I'd try these. This was my first experience with making sourdough pancakes and I'm not sure what I expected but the sourdough flavor was just too strong for me. While I loved that they were thin, the sourdough flavor was just way too strong and I'm not sure what, if anything, might be done to change that. My kids liked them though, completely doused in syrup, but I will probably not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBOOKOUT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States