Sourdough Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
As is, the batter is way too thin and salty. Griddle is too hot at 350. The bottom cooks too fast and the rest is too paper thin and runny to turn them without them falling apart. Needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I grew up on sourdough pancakes, but didn't have the recipe on hand so I took a gamble. It was the powdered milk that did me in; covered up the nice sourdough flavor. You could omit the water and use milk instead. ---Looking at all the different results in other reviews (too thin, too strong of flavor, etc), it really depends on your starter. Everyones starter is different; it depends on your water to flour ratio. When feeding my sourdough, I aim for a certain consistency that I am used to and like. The flavor is dependent on the bacteria in your air (what feeds the starter). If you find your starter to be too strong, add some extra baking soda when using it in baking (1-2 tsp total per cup of starter). It will foam and actually makes it nice to work with. It is my understanding that baking soda is actually not necessary with sourdough pancakes although I typically do use about 1 tsp per cup of starter as this recipe calls for. Regarding the dough being too thin, you can add flour to the recipe OR adjust your starter by adding a little more flour than water each time you feed it. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! Yum!! So delicious, filling but not heavy like buttermilk pancakes are...also wonderful alternative to throwing your sourdough start excess away:) my husbands new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
These are the best pancakes I've ever had! I was totally weirded out by the idea of sourdough pancakes, but no... these are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I tripled the recipe and made these changes-I left out the water, used 2tsp baking soda and 3tb sugar, subbed coconut oil for veg oil and added a splash of vanilla. They're great, light & fluffy sourdough pancake perfection. We ate them with homemade blueberry syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I have been researching various sourdough pancake recipes and have found THE ONE! Search no more! This is a perfect recipe to use that portion of your sourdough starter that you would ordinarily "discard" when feeding your starter. The recipe is super easy and absolutely delicious! I was skeptical at first, the ingredients seemed as if they would yield a very runny batter and a thin pancake. Because my sourdough starter is a bit on the "thin" side, I followed the advice of other reviewers and added a scant 1/4 cup of flour. I mixed that with the other dry ingredients, added to the wet and, voila, magic began! The batter became light and fluffy. The batter yields an "in-between" pancake; not the super thin crepe/swedish style pancake and not the thick buttermilk pancake, but something wonderfully in-between. This sourdough pancake recipe is amazing. I will look no further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
First review of anything ever! These are never fail - fantastic- pancakes. What a delightful way to use your starter each time you refresh it. They are a joy to serve - my husband and grandkids love them. Use as written or add bananas and cinnamon and top with homemade jam...yummy...the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
These were very good. I too added 1/4 cup of flour. I will make these again. The next time I will try whole milk instead of the powdered milk. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Crystal Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
awesome pancakes that add some thing difference from the average and the norm, the flavor all depends on your starter on this one so some can have great experiences and others may have bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Yummy!!! If you have a good starter these are delicious. No they are not thick and fluffy like buttermilk pancakes, but they are yummy. I make them often. Make sure your flame is low. Because they are thin they will burn if not careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimyco Hudspeth Trules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States