Sourdough Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
These are the best pancakes I've ever had! I was totally weirded out by the idea of sourdough pancakes, but no... these are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I tripled the recipe and made these changes-I left out the water, used 2tsp baking soda and 3tb sugar, subbed coconut oil for veg oil and added a splash of vanilla. They're great, light & fluffy sourdough pancake perfection. We ate them with homemade blueberry syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I have been researching various sourdough pancake recipes and have found THE ONE! Search no more! This is a perfect recipe to use that portion of your sourdough starter that you would ordinarily "discard" when feeding your starter. The recipe is super easy and absolutely delicious! I was skeptical at first, the ingredients seemed as if they would yield a very runny batter and a thin pancake. Because my sourdough starter is a bit on the "thin" side, I followed the advice of other reviewers and added a scant 1/4 cup of flour. I mixed that with the other dry ingredients, added to the wet and, voila, magic began! The batter became light and fluffy. The batter yields an "in-between" pancake; not the super thin crepe/swedish style pancake and not the thick buttermilk pancake, but something wonderfully in-between. This sourdough pancake recipe is amazing. I will look no further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
First review of anything ever! These are never fail - fantastic- pancakes. What a delightful way to use your starter each time you refresh it. They are a joy to serve - my husband and grandkids love them. Use as written or add bananas and cinnamon and top with homemade jam...yummy...the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
These were very good. I too added 1/4 cup of flour. I will make these again. The next time I will try whole milk instead of the powdered milk. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Crystal Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
awesome pancakes that add some thing difference from the average and the norm, the flavor all depends on your starter on this one so some can have great experiences and others may have bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@Home.Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Yummy!!! If you have a good starter these are delicious. No they are not thick and fluffy like buttermilk pancakes, but they are yummy. I make them often. Make sure your flame is low. Because they are thin they will burn if not careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solsister8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I love these. The only I would change is less baking soda. The baking soda flavor is a bit too strong for me. Otherwise, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These pancakes came out great. My starter is quite thin so I added about 1/4 cup flour. They puffed up just like normal pancakes. I made 5 pancakes from one batch (about 4" each) so most people will probably want to double or triple the recipe. They tasted just like soft pretzels to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I agree with others that this recipe needs some flour added to it. I didn't measure, I just added till it looked right. This would really depend on your starter, though, I think, as thinner starters would need more flour than thicker ones. I added cinnamon and nutmeg to mine. My husband thinks they're fantastic, but while I think they're good, I don't think they're astounding. I will keep making them cause a pancake's a pancake and these taste like pancakes, so...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States