Sourdough Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Don't add the water until after you add the powdered milk. Usually just the liquid from the starter is enough to make a thin batter, at least at the texture I keep my starter. I've been making these for years whenever I have a starter going. Good way to keep my starter fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
New favorite pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wasn't crazy about them. Made them exactly like the recipe and they were very thin. Reminded me of very thin French toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I thought there was an error in the recipe. No flour? For pancakes? I was skeptical and almost added flour as other reviews suggested, but I reminded myself of my personal rule for internet recipes -- follow the recipe EXACTLY so I know if the recipe is bad (as opposed to thinking it's bad because my modifications didn't work out). So I did that -- made this exactly as instructed (note that my sourdough starter seemed pretty thin when I used it for this recipe). The pancakes turned out to be quite thin and flag (closer to a crepe than a pancake) with a nice (but mild) sourdough taste. EXACTLY what I was looking for. EXACTLY like the sourdough pancakes we enjoyed when we were growing up in Alaska. These are authentic Alaska Sourdough pancakes. If you don't like that, toss in a little flour to thicken them. They'll turn into a slightly sourdough tasting pancake that is also wonderful (I did that after putting the first THIN one in the skillet for a "test pancake"). After I added some flour (not much!), my husband and I both agreed that the original thin pancake (this recipe EXACTLY) was far more authentic and far more delicious. Either way (with added flour or as written), this recipe makes a nice pancake (delicious!!). Just make it as YOU like it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Wondered where the flour was and added some but was hard to turn and burnt before was ready to turn over turned grill way down but did't help will not make again. The taste was good but too hard to flip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Add 1/4 c. flour. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
As is, the batter is way too thin and salty. Griddle is too hot at 350. The bottom cooks too fast and the rest is too paper thin and runny to turn them without them falling apart. Needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I grew up on sourdough pancakes, but didn't have the recipe on hand so I took a gamble. It was the powdered milk that did me in; covered up the nice sourdough flavor. You could omit the water and use milk instead. ---Looking at all the different results in other reviews (too thin, too strong of flavor, etc), it really depends on your starter. Everyones starter is different; it depends on your water to flour ratio. When feeding my sourdough, I aim for a certain consistency that I am used to and like. The flavor is dependent on the bacteria in your air (what feeds the starter). If you find your starter to be too strong, add some extra baking soda when using it in baking (1-2 tsp total per cup of starter). It will foam and actually makes it nice to work with. It is my understanding that baking soda is actually not necessary with sourdough pancakes although I typically do use about 1 tsp per cup of starter as this recipe calls for. Regarding the dough being too thin, you can add flour to the recipe OR adjust your starter by adding a little more flour than water each time you feed it. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! Yum!! So delicious, filling but not heavy like buttermilk pancakes are...also wonderful alternative to throwing your sourdough start excess away:) my husbands new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
These are the best pancakes I've ever had! I was totally weirded out by the idea of sourdough pancakes, but no... these are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States