Sourdough Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was a very tasty, quick and easy recipe to make, and very moist for a biscuit. I will definitely be using it again. I recommend cutting back the oil to 1/4 cup and hand-kneading if necessary to work it in. Method Notes: I made them with the listed ingredients, besides cutting back the oil a bit as another reviewer suggested; I used a touch over 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil for a 1.5 recipe rather than the 1/3 cup for 1 recipe (so about 1/4 for a single recipe), and it required a bit of hand kneading to work it in evenly. I think I would opt for 1/2 coconut oil, 1/2 EVO next time, as they were a little too olive-y for my tastes--butter would be even better, I'm sure, but I tend to try to healthify things and don't have access to raw, grass-fed butter. Maybe it was cutting back the oil, but they definitely turned out as biscuits for me, rather than cookie-like as some reviewers mentioned. I used standard, unsweetened sourdough starter and did not add any sweetening agent. I divided the dough into 18 (so a dozen per recipe-worth of dough) hand-shaped balls, rather than just dropping by spoonfuls, and they turned out lovely and light and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
it's a quick, easy and smart way to use your surplus starter to make scones: nothing to write home about, but interesting and unbelievably friendly. In a few minutes and with 3 basic ingredients you make something that a lot of people wouldn't dream to be able to produce... I added sugar and dried cranberries and no baking powder or soda, as my starter is quite powerful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This worked out wonderfully! We used butter instead of oil and these were to die for, melt in your mouth, delicious. This will definitely be our "Oops, we need bread fast!" recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These turned out very good, but I changed a few things to make them more biscuit-like. I used 1/2 cup cold coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and I added 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder. I also upped the salt to 1/2 tsp, and mixed in dried blueberries. I cooked them on a pizza stone, and my whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
worked awsome..easy fast..done...i did add 1/4 teaspon of baking powder as well...baked at 395 for 15 min..browned nicely and moist in side...used the drop method for shaping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Kindred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I couldn't get these to brown even the slightest without cooking for another 5 minutes. I'm a fan of larger biscuits so I only yielded 8 from the recipe as is. Good base though to add your spin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Just came out of the oven! I think this recipe is adaptable. Can make sour or sweet as desired. This is the first time I made this. I increased the baking soda to 1 tsp for my batch. Greased my pan with butter flavored Pam. This is a keeper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Kos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Ok, so I suppose the outcome of this recipe will depend hugely on your starter, my starter is quite mature and these turned out like a cross between scones & cookies - absolutely nothing like biscuits (which are hard & crunchy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Went with the 1/4 cup of oil and needed the dough and cut the biscuits with round cutter for consistency for the baking sheets. Love the recipe.. very easy... thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made the recipe as stated, no changes or additions. With my starter, the biscuits where light and fluffy, so fluffy that I could not butter them. But that was fine as they were planed to go with sausage gravy. It is a perfect pairing, a match made in heaven. I will use these biscuits every time I plan on having sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia Bloodmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richfield, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States