Sourdough Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This was amazing!!! I used oil instead of shortening and added a small box of pudding. It was sooo moist and chocolatey! It didn't even need frosting! I left it covered on the counter since I had no room in the fridge and it stayed fresh & moist for a day & a half, until it my husband & 5 kids devoured it. I like to buy seasonal pudding flavors when they go on clearance. I used Mounds pudding and it was great! I am thinking of what flavors would go with chocolate for next time, or maybe just omit the cocoa and use a flavor like pumpkin spice pudding. I'll update when I try it! *Update* Okay, it's official. This is an awesome versatile recipe! I just made it using the pumpkin spice pudding, adding 1tsp. cinnamon and 1/2tsp. allspice, with a hint (1/8tsp. each) of ginger & nutmeg. It tastes just like a moist decadent pumpkin cake! I didn't have anything to frost it with, but it surely didn't need it. My kids want me to make this for the family 4th of July get-together, using whipped cream to top. I can't wait to try other pudding flavors! If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars, I would! *Update* Pudding flavors tried...butterscotch-yum!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
So I think I need to play and tweek this recipe a bit more and become a more seasoned expert at the sourdough starter. But....for the first recipe I've made and go at it, I was pleasantly pleased with it. Based on others reviews with it being dry and having to accommodate all recipes for allergies I made the following adjustments. Subbed the eggs with Egg Replacer, subbed some of the sugar with applesauce, added in a half cup of non dairy sour cream and cooked about 10 mins longer. Put a vanilla frosting on it and it was delicious. Might add in non-dairy chocolate chips next time and attempt an espresso frosting. Thanks for the share :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
quite a good, basic cake, which has a lot of possibilities and helps you use the extra sourdough starter you end up with when you are messing around with natural leavening and so on. I made it twice, once as described and yesterday with instant coffee powder instead of cocoa and the result is still good. You can also add apples, pears or any fruit, and chips of any kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I'm not a huge fan of chocolate cake, but this is delicious!!! It's hard to find sourdough recipes that actually taste not like sourdough, and this one gets two thumbs up from this family. I know people dislike when a recipe is changed and then rated, but we use honey instead of sugar. used 2/3 c honey in place of sugar. and only 4 TBS of cocoa powder. 2/3 c. softened butter instead of shortening. have used both milk or buttermilk in place of water. cooked 350 for 18-25 mins, check often and honey cooks faster than sugar. unlike other reviewers we did NOT find this cake dry (b/c honey I'm assuming ), completely opposite!! I call this a pudding cake as it's not dense at all but very very moist and wonderful!! Thankyou for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
For a couple of years a dear friend has offered her sourdough starter & been after me to try making bread. My bread making experience 30 years ago had traumatized me so, I had not tried since. She finally convinced me and I'm having pretty good results so far. Like a kid with a new toy, I'm researching sourdough and using it a lot of different ways. I had started a cake recipe using 2 cups flour and 1 3/4 cup sugar combined but had misread the directions..add starter and let it rise for 2 to 3 hrs. I didn't have 2 to 3 hrs. so looked up this recipe I had saved. Having combined the 2 c. flour and sugar already, I calculated the servings to 21. I also subbed canola oil for shortening and buttermilk for water (per other reviews). Used just enough warm water to dissolve a singles packet of Taster's Choice instant coffee to strengthen the chocolate taste (I like dark chocolate). Wonderful texture and flavor!!!! Wonderful without frosting or glaze!! I'm sure this is a 5 star but since I made a few changes, will give 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This reminds me of a cake my Mom used to make. I am lactose intolerant perfect cake for anyone in those shoes. I made it today almost gone at my house. A keeper! Without any doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Kos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
was quite dry even though I added a little oil in since i'd read other people's reviews. i'd probably try subbing milk in for the water and maybe halfing the butter and replacing the rest with oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is the best cake ever.... my husband requested it 6 months before his birthday to make sure I got the sourdough starter started in time! :) To keep it from becoming too dry, be sure to not over bake it. I do 17 minutes on the middle rack and 17 minutes on the top rack of the oven, and then check it and only bake in 5 min increments on the top rack, if need be. I top it with cream cheese frosting and store it in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by endoalir
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Mine turned out a bit spongy, not very fluffy. However, it tastes good and has a pleasant aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
The cake turned out really good. I made some changes that were recommended to help keep the cake moist. I used a little bit more starter than the recipe calls for. I iced the cake with vanilla icing. It was not too sweet, moist and the sourdough gave a nice aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States