Sourdough Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Thias is an excellent buckwheat pancake recipe. I served with blackberry syrup and the sweetness of that mixed perfectly with the heartiness of the buckwheat and the slight sour bite of sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGLING
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
we added more suger to make a sweeter pancake, even my finicky 10 year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I made a couple of changes to this recipe before ever trying it and the pancakes turned out great! I omitted the vanilla and ginger, used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose white flour, and used honey instead of sugar. Great recipe; definitely a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
My pancakes came out great -- fluffy and tall without me having to apply any tricks (such as beating eggwhites to stiff or adding carbonated liquids). My starter is pretty thick, which might have something to do with it (I had to add some water to thin down the batter a bit). A very nice way to use buckwheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
There's an oatmeal pancake recipe on this very site that is my family's favorite so they were skeptical when I started making something different but I have sourdough coming out my ears and wanted to try these. They're wonderful! Trust me folks, if you're wondering if you should make some sourdough starter, if you'd use it often enough to justify keeping something alive in your fridge ON PURPOSE this recipe is your justification. The only change I made was to add a little oatmeal as a concession the other recipe and I cut down on the wheat flour replacing it with white since my family still doesn't know they're eating wheat in almost everything (sssshhhhh). Very nice texture and wonderful flavor. This very well may be the new favorite pancake at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Another great way to use my starter. Next time I well add blueberries before flipping them over. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Made wonderful waffles also with no changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Since I can't get buckwheat now, I figured I'd make these subbing whole wheat for buckwheat. They are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Today was the second time for making these pancakes. I think these are so good you should make sourdough starter for these alone. I have substituted different spices for the ginger. (pumpkin spice or cinnamon) I make half a recipe and it is perfect quantity for husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I used my Amish friendship starter in this recipe. I omitted any sugar, as the starter is sweet enough on it's own, and added a tsp. of baking powder and added just a little more milk. These were perfect. Fluffy and filling. I was full after one but my kids ate two each. The batter is thick, but spreads out well on the hot griddle. Both my kids loved this and asked for it again. YOU CAN USE YOUR AMISH STARTER IN THIS RECIPE! Yay. So happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States