Sourdough Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
After reading reviews I decided NOT to add the baking soda. I also had my own starter, so maybe this is what made the difference. I'm new at sourdough bread making but my husband is raving over it. Will keep the recipe and try it again. One more note,I used almost another whole cup of warm water to add rest of flour. Also, put a pan of hot water on the lower rack. Ok, that is two more notes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
My 6 year old son loves to help me make this tasty bread. Everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I thought that this recipe was excellent, it tasted great. I did also have a little extra flour left over but the final 2 loaves that I made were very good and rose well. This was my first attempt at making sourdough and I will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam4866
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
i love this recipe! I too had to add at least another cup of water to get the right consistency but it was delicious and my whole family loved it. Another tip, if you have your own starter like I do, just use 2 cups of your starter in place of the starter recipe provided above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
this isn't Quick because it is sourdough! But this recipie is WONDERFUL. We made round loaves and cut off the bottoms. We broiled them to a little bit crispy and put tomato paste (italian of course) with a little bit of italian spices on top. Then put mozzerella cheese. Perfect pizza bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I didn't think it rivaled the SF bread but I made this one before I go my starter right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
It was difficult to mix all the first batch of flour with an electric mixer. You may need to do much of this by hand. I only managed about 2 1/2 cups mixed in with the beater. It also seemed to me that I couldn't add all 3 1/2 cups of flour but this may because my starter was less thick than the recipe. I used much less flour and cut the baking soda out entirely. I just think that sourdough bread will always involve a little guesswork and adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I had to add at least 1 more cup of water to accommodate all of the flour. Bread had a metallic aftertaste from the baking soda. Would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Although I can imagine that the baking soda may have produced the metallic taste, it is far more likely that a metal utensil was used with the starter at some point. Sourdough starter will always taste odd if it comes in contact with metal...best to use wooden or plastic utensils, and glass or plastic bowls. ( I'm surprised that the recipe didn't advise this.) ok, I made this a few days after giving the advice regarding the metal utensils, and I have to say, this bread was not good at all. It was so heavy, and honestly did have a strange aftertaste. We made french toast with it the next day, and it didn't get any better. We had to throw out the remainder of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Turned out hard and inedible. wasn't moist enough to carry the yeast followed directions to the T, save that I had to hand mix everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States