Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I was so excited to try this recipe because it is a true sourdough recipe and does not require yeast. I am so happy that this turned out well. I was very nervous because this was my first bread from a homemade starter and while it did take a long time to rise, it was worth the wait. It took about 20 hours for the first rise and then about three for the second. My dough was very sticky as well - too sticky to knead - so I added a small amout of flour just so I could handle it and it turned out fine. Not to dense as I was worried it would be. Good sourdough is a true test of patience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Yay, it worked! I used this same contributor's sourdough starter and I am so happy it worked! I prefer this sourdough to the flour starter, because it doesn't get quite as sour or crusty. This bread makes THE BEST GRILLED CHEESE EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Ok, this is my second review of this bread the first time I had made alterations due to how long this bread took. So this time I made the recipe exactly how it says in the recipe but I let mine rise on top of our pellet stove. This cut the initial rising time to 4 hours. This is a wonderful recipe and has that sour dough taste as long as you have a strong starter. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Living In: Hanceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I was dissappointed with the results of this bread...the bread baked up beautifully, but it has very little taste. I didn't have any problems with it rising (but it did take a LONG time to rise). I may try again with a little more mature starter and add more salt to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Thank you for such a wonderful recipe. I followed your directions exactly and came up with two beautiful loaves of bread. The bread is absolutely delicious. I need look no further. I can not imagine improving upon this one. I did, of course, use your sourdough starter, on this site as well. Perfect combination! My husband and I both love to cook and bake and we thought this recipe was truly outstanding, simplicity and all you can ask for. You truly deserve every star that comes your way. Once again, we thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
for those that had trouble- do NOT add flour. The dough is sticky, as it should be. if it's not rising, also check if your kitchen is too cold. i am fond of this recipe, as its a true sourdough, no added yeast. turns out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The consistency was perfect, but it was a little sweeter than I needed. The recipe is easy to half, and the second time I used less sugar than recommended and it came out perfectly. It also works with white spelt flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I just made this recipe and my husband and I are probably going to finish the first loaf today. We are trying to resist, but it is really hard! I'm not a big sourdough fan, but my husband is. I only liked sourdough that I made years ago when someone gave me a starter. I used Esthers recipe for starter and this is near the top of the list as the best bread I have ever made! Thanks Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I have made sourdough bread for many years. However, I let my starter go too long without feeding it. I used Becky's starter recipe, and my dough is rising at this very minute. I can't wait to bake it in the morning. I give it to family and friends, and they enjoy it too. Thanks for sharing Becky. I'm back in business now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Mine didn't rise at all. Not the first time and not the second time. I really think that you need to add yeast, especially with a mature starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States