Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
AWESOME!!!! so so so so good! I have used this recipe tons of times and it always comes out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
My mother-in-law recommended this. Boy, is this the best homemade bread! Perfect texture. Better than a bread maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Lobes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Tasted the raw dough & it seemed awful sweet, so I adjusted the recipe accordingly to get something that would be a bit better. I noticed that someone suggested giving the bread a warm place to rise overnight, which will only result in overproofing. Warmth speeds the yeast's activity, accelerating fermentation. Warm proofing should only be used when you want to bake the bread after proofing for only an hour or so. For the best flavour, you want to allow for a slow, long fermentation process, so it is actually ideal to proof the bread overnight (or even a little longer, if possible) in the refrigerator. As long as the temperature is above freezing, the yeast will keep eating, but they will eat slower, allowing for a greater buildup of the byproducts of fermentation, which gives good bread its flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe! It was well worth the overnight wait for this delicious bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Leo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This bread was so easy to make! I followed the directions exactly to make two big fluffy loaves with a delicious crust. It was a little sweeter than I prefer, but everyone loved it and many asked for the recipe. Thanks for sharing this. I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I was so excited to try this recipe because it is a true sourdough recipe and does not require yeast. I am so happy that this turned out well. I was very nervous because this was my first bread from a homemade starter and while it did take a long time to rise, it was worth the wait. It took about 20 hours for the first rise and then about three for the second. My dough was very sticky as well - too sticky to knead - so I added a small amout of flour just so I could handle it and it turned out fine. Not to dense as I was worried it would be. Good sourdough is a true test of patience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Yay, it worked! I used this same contributor's sourdough starter and I am so happy it worked! I prefer this sourdough to the flour starter, because it doesn't get quite as sour or crusty. This bread makes THE BEST GRILLED CHEESE EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Ok, this is my second review of this bread the first time I had made alterations due to how long this bread took. So this time I made the recipe exactly how it says in the recipe but I let mine rise on top of our pellet stove. This cut the initial rising time to 4 hours. This is a wonderful recipe and has that sour dough taste as long as you have a strong starter. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Living In: Hanceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I was dissappointed with the results of this bread...the bread baked up beautifully, but it has very little taste. I didn't have any problems with it rising (but it did take a LONG time to rise). I may try again with a little more mature starter and add more salt to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Thank you for such a wonderful recipe. I followed your directions exactly and came up with two beautiful loaves of bread. The bread is absolutely delicious. I need look no further. I can not imagine improving upon this one. I did, of course, use your sourdough starter, on this site as well. Perfect combination! My husband and I both love to cook and bake and we thought this recipe was truly outstanding, simplicity and all you can ask for. You truly deserve every star that comes your way. Once again, we thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States