Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
wasted alot of flour to learn that my starter didn't have the yeast to work. Maybe try this again later after my starter has matured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I am a newbie to breadmaking- I have made about a dozen loaves of a simple Amish white bread found elsewhere on this site, with good results, learning from each loaf. As an example of what I've learned, I moved from disposable aluminum foil pans to glass, and now to cast iron (cast iron being a fascination of mine). I've been wanting to try a sourdough for a year and finally got the guts to try making my own starter two weeks ago. Having a healthy sponge, I needed a recipe- didn't realize that till I had already started getting everthing out of my cabinets to make bread Saturday morning. I downloaded the allrecipes Android app and looked up a basic sourdough bread- landing here. It's now Sunday morning and I've just taken the bread out of the oven. It is AMAZING!! A touch of sourness to it, definitely a different smell as it cooked, but definitely a very yummy smell. One thing to note for you new bakers- don't do like I did, start at 2pm then have to stay up till 3am because the dough's rising faster than you expected (but don't expect it to rise at all quickly, either). I ended up sectioning the dough into pans at 3am, and then left them to rise while I slept- ended up with excess dough on the counter. That turned out fine, though- olive oil on a piece of aluminum foil and in the oven it went, giving me something to munch on while I waited for the bread to cool. I now have two beautiful loaves of artisan bread on a plate, and have to fight off the family to not dig in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Simple and Awesome. I buttered pans and gave a milk bath after they rose before baking but that is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Makes a great bread and when divided in 6 separate balls, it makes for great soup bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This recipe worked out perfectly! I did not use any salt because I thought I had heard that it kills yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Tried this recipe out as my first sourdough with a starter that I started. It came out great.I made one loave & four small buns. My husband ended up taking a bun to work for lunch. I didn't have any bread flour so I used 4 cups of whole wheat flour & 2 cups of allpurpose flour. I also wasn't sure how long to let the loaves rise so I let it go for about 2 hrs I could've put them in the oven earlier, but it's winter time. I did agree with someone else about it being sweet but with the whole wheat I would only cut it down to about 1/3 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is an amazing bread. I highly suggest using Becky's sourdough starter that uses potato flakes to make this bread with. I have made plain bread, rolls, and cinnamon bread with it. I personally use the bread rising setting on my dehydrator and do a 4 hour rise the first time and a 2 hour rise the second time. I am currently making bread sticks with it. I have not let it rise overnight (too cold in my house) Oh Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is a great recipe. I also discovered something cool quite by accident! I left the sugar out until it was time to punch. So I kneaded it in and my loaves rose faster then they normally would. I think this bread could use a little more salt, but it was still yummy. The texture is really fantastic and I dig the clear directions. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasarasara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
OMG! This was my first try at making bread and this recipe came out wonderful.. Only difference was that I had starter from Amish Friendship Bread which uses sugar and milk so the bread came out sweeter than I imagine the recipe intends. It was still very tasty, especially buttered with a spicy dish of New Orleans style barbequed shrimp. If I make it again using Friendship bread starter I'll just cut back on the sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Of course after I had this all mixed and rising I read all of the reviews. 6 cups of flour was entirely too much for my kind of starter. My starter is much more thick than the author's, and thus created a less liquid mix to begin adding flour. I will in the future only use 5 cups. Having said that, even after 45 minutes in the oven, the bread did not brown quickly, and though it did rise well for both risings, both loaves weighed a ton. The results were that my husband proclaimed it to be the best crust he'd ever eaten. So we traded, I gave him the crust and he gave me the unfortunately mushy center. The crust was, indeed good, very sweet and so close to the flavor I was looking for, but the center was very heavy and dense. So, as you are making this, consider the type of starter you have and adjust your flour accordingly. I will try again...this is a learning process and if at first you don't succeed, try again. Right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States