Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
OMG! This was my first try at making bread and this recipe came out wonderful.. Only difference was that I had starter from Amish Friendship Bread which uses sugar and milk so the bread came out sweeter than I imagine the recipe intends. It was still very tasty, especially buttered with a spicy dish of New Orleans style barbequed shrimp. If I make it again using Friendship bread starter I'll just cut back on the sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Of course after I had this all mixed and rising I read all of the reviews. 6 cups of flour was entirely too much for my kind of starter. My starter is much more thick than the author's, and thus created a less liquid mix to begin adding flour. I will in the future only use 5 cups. Having said that, even after 45 minutes in the oven, the bread did not brown quickly, and though it did rise well for both risings, both loaves weighed a ton. The results were that my husband proclaimed it to be the best crust he'd ever eaten. So we traded, I gave him the crust and he gave me the unfortunately mushy center. The crust was, indeed good, very sweet and so close to the flavor I was looking for, but the center was very heavy and dense. So, as you are making this, consider the type of starter you have and adjust your flour accordingly. I will try again...this is a learning process and if at first you don't succeed, try again. Right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingAddict485
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I used my own starter for this which is just a basic flour and water one. It turned out so good! I made it with 4 cups white flour and 2 of whole wheat flour and that made a nice texture. I also did 1 loaf of bread and then made 12 rolls with the other half of the dough. I rolled the tops of them in poppy seeds and cooked them in a 9x13 dish for 30 minutes. They are even yummier than the bread. I can't wait to use this recipe again. A note to those who are having problems with the dough rising, it's not the recipe, it's your starter. Try feeding it for two days before baking your bread. Mine is a hearty starter and my dough rose very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Syd0224
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I received a sourdough starter from my father and tried a recipe that he had given me. That "batch" never really rose and came out very heavy. I had to try again so I found this recipe. It rose very well over night but in the morning I only had one official bread pan in metal and one square casserole dish so I used those. At a friend's suggestion I turned on my oven to 175 and when it reached that temp turned it off and put the loaves in to rise while I went to work. When I came home one had risen beautifully and the other had not. The one in the metal pan was flat and "sad looking". I went ahead and baked the risen one and transferred the other to another glass "meatloaf" pan. I left it on top of the stove while cooking dinner and it rose beautifully too! I baked the other and they both came out great! In light of this, I recommend not using metal to bake in; there was no other difference between the two. I believe this could have been SEWON's problem. I'm thrilled to announce I've successfully made my first bread and can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd0224

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Love this recipe, but for me it seems to be almost a full 2 day process, but it is worth it. My family loves this recipe, I almost can't keep up with the demand for it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Exceptional!!! Most wonderful bread EVER! I am so glad I used this recipe with her sourdough starter. If you follow the directions with patience and care, you will be most wonderfully rewarded!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
The recipe I use with the Potato Flake starter fed with 3/4 cup sugar, 3 heaping T. potato flakes, and 1 cup warm water uses the same as this except 2 tsp. salt, 1/4 cup sugar, & 1/3 cup oil. I use canola oil. For 100% whole wheat bread, use 1 1/2 cups starter and 1 cup warm water for the 6 cups whole wheat flour. Omit the sugar in the bread recipe for less sweet dough. Add vinegar to make it more sour. Sometimes I use 1 small pkg. Jell-o Island Pineapple dry mix instead of the sugar to make a "Hawaiian" Bread dough for loaves, buns, or cinnamon rolls. Vary flavor using different oils. Olive oil and Italian seasoning makes Italian bread flavor. You can use the dough after first rising to make thin crust pizza. Punch it down, roll thin, place on sprayed pan, and par-bake on preheated pizza stone. Top & bake at once or freeze then top & bake later. For thick crust, let rise to desired size; top; bake on preheated pizza stone. Since the dough sits for 12 hour periods of time during rising, I don't use perishable products in it like eggs, milk, or fresh foods. I use dried mixes, herbs & spices, dried fruits, etc. that impart their flavors. I use Pyrex glass loaf pans and bake @ 350°. My loaves (3 per batch) bake in 28 minutes. It freezes well, but lasts a long time on the counter. I don't knead the dough but 20-25 times after mixing. Each portion has 8 - 12 hours between. Feed, 8-12 hrs sit; Mix, 8-12 hrs sit; Shape, 8-12 hrs sit; Bake. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glitch
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
turned out nice. I used my own starter but otherwise followed the recipe as written. It did rise quite well overnight and the 2nd rise only took about 3 hours, baked up lovely and deliscious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glitch

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This recipe is excellent (munching a piece right now)! I had a little issue with rise, but this is due to the fact that I have relatively young starter. My dough took 2 days to rise (so don't give up hope if it takes a while). Also, the bread is only lightly sour. Again, this is because I have a young starter. But the flavor is lovely. Thanks for posting! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I didn't have any problem getting it to rise but it was too sweet for me...not sour enough for "sour" dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States