Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I used my own starter but this bread was wonderful. I added garlic and rosemary to one loaf and shredded cheddar cheese to the other. I got rave reviews. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
First time making starter and Sourdough breed. Just love it ! Dough was very sticky while kneading, which scared me some but it all came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Very good although not very sour. This is my first attempt at baking this recipe and I too used all of the ingredients as written including Becky's starter. I halved the recipe in case I messed up (and I did!) I didn't want to waste any King Arthur bread flour. Well I accidentally used the full amount of starter for 2 loaves (I forgot to halve that!) so I had to cut the water but I think I ended up using almost a quarter cup more water than the recipe called for so I just added a bit more flour. I figured I'd press on and see how things turned out. The dough rose perfectly overnight (12 hours in all) then I kneaded the dough all 10 mins by hand in the morning which I almost never do since I typically let my Kitchenaid do the kneading. I have to say the second rise did not have the height that I expected albeit it did double (I like my loaves more of a round free form on a baking sheet). In the end it turned out great! I will be keeping this as a base recipe for more creative additions like olives, cheese and herbs. One question...why do the main kneading before the second rise and not before the first?? Since the dough is cold in the morning it would seem to be easier to knead before it is put in the refridge. Most other doughs I believe are kneaded mainly before the first rise then are punched down and let to rise a second time. In any case this turned out wonderful despite my mistake. My previous attempts at sour dough were not so good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Really easy to make and tasty, but next time I'll cut the sugar back some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Simply fabulous! I used the starter by the same cook, Becky Richardson, that has potato flakes rather than flour, let my dough rise over night, kneaded for 10 minutes and formed two loaves. I had to let the loaves rise for two hours in order for them to double in size, then baked them. At 350 degrees, my loaves browned a little faster than I would have liked. Next time I will set my oven to 300 degrees. This bread was awesome and I have never made sourdough bread before. This will become a staple for my family, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carla walton
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
this is a delicios bread. i used the sourdough starter 1 with this recipe and i had great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Bread is wonderful. Holds up well, lasted more than a week in a plastic storage container. Fabulous as oven baked French Toast with orange flavoring, orange zest and dried cherries. I'm currently attempting to freeze 2 unbaked loaves, I'll edit when I find out if it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
You wouldn't believe how amazing my house smells right now! I tried a sampling and this bread tastes amazing. I followed the recipe as written and didn't change a thing, other than the fact that there was no way I could let the dough rise overnight on the countertop. After about 4 hours it was to the top of the bowl I had it in and it spent the night in the refrigerator. I must have a very lively starter! The next day when I got home from work I kneaded it for maybe 5 minutes and made one loaf and 12 small rolls. They turned out a little lumpier than some of the other pictures posted (maybe because I didn't knead it the full 1 minutes) but the flavor is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I, like a handful of other reviewers, must have done something terribly wrong. My dough did not rise enough to double, and ultimately ended up as a dense, heavy, small loaf. Very disappointing. I tried this recipe due to the reviews raving about what a light loaf of bread this made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States