Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Depending on oven 45min may be too long. Mine was too crusty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Owens Noel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
lovely, basic sourdough loaf! Very good sliced and toasted. This was a just the recipe I was looking for:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Awesome! Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Okay,my bread did not rise and came out very dense .I admit,I added flour when I was kneading it in the final phase to deal with the stickiness.Back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was AWESOME! A great bread and a fairly simple recipe. Just a fyi, I got the best results when I waited to use my sour dough starter after I feed it and waited until it had risen to its highest peak and was all foamy and bubbly. It made my bread so much lighter and you could really feel the difference in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I used Sourdough Starter I by Becky Richardson to make this bread. It overflowed the bowl it was in while rising the first time overnight, but thankfully, I had set the bowl on a cookie sheet. The next morning, I scooped up the overflow and incorporated it into the mixture and kneaded it. I wore gloves while I kneaded the bread, and yes, it was sticky, but I didn't add any extra flour to the mixture other than what was on the board underneath. I kept wondering the entire time if it would turn out, or if all this time and energy were for nothing. It took quite a while for the second rise in the loaf pans, but I finally decided to bake it, and it turned out great. I don't care for a really sour bread, so this one is perfect for me. So glad I have more starter in the frig waiting to be fed and made into more bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I love love love sour dough bread! (: Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I made my first 2 loaves using this recipe and the corresponding starter (potato flakes). I followed the recipe precisely. The dough actually never became a kneadable dough, more like a batter. I put the batter into my bread machine and simply set it to knead 10 minutes, then poured the contents into 2 loaf pans and baked. The result was a decent loaf of bread - dense, sweetishly sour. The next time, I will add more flour for a kneadable dough and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
The first two times I made this bread it was delicious. From the third time on, it takes far too long to rise and will not get done in the middle. I have fed and handled the starter per the starter recipe and have followed the bread recipe exactly. I had high hope of making more creative breads with the starter but it's too much trouble to have disappointing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I've been making this bread for almost a year now and it's truly the easiest and best tasting I've made.I use my own starter almost a year old an usually half this recipe because we like the bread fresh..Everyone that's tried it loves it ,it makes a big loaf .I usually stir mine together at night and leave to rise till the next morning.In the morning I knead it and place in 4 x 8 greased pan and let it rise again.This rising usually only takes about2 hours and it's over the top of the pan.Love this bread thanks for such a good recipe.Mine usually bakes for 35 min.when I cool it I slather on butter for a soft crust.Thanks Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States