Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bmg2479
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I used sourdough starter by Esther Nelson also on this site. I let the dough rise with the light on in my oven for 13 hours on the first rise and 5 hours on the second rise. Baked at 300 for 30 minutes as my circa 1961 oven runs a little hot. I was a little nervous as I had never made sourdough bread before, but this recipe turned out 2 fantastic loaves! Had a subtle sour taste, not too sweet as other reviewers had mentioned. Can't wait to make this recipe again as I think spending a short amount of time making bread over several days is easier to manage with young kids than spending a larger amount of time in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmg2479

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Perfect every single time. I have made loaves, dinner rolls, and cinnamon rolls with this, so far. The only difference in ingredients is that I use olive oil. It's what I usually have on hand. But I plan to try out the corn oil! Also, I've halved the sugar before & used pineapple juice for the other part. Either way it's always delicious! I've tried a lot of sourdough recipes but this one is my favorite. Give it a try---it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
First sourdough bread I have made in 20 years and it turned out perfect. Easy to make, almost fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I did 3/4 cup of sugar but otherwise everything as stated and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tree Saw
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This sourdough has a great taste. I ran into the same problem as some regarding the dough not rising. So, the 2nd time around, I kneaded the dough for 10 mins first before setting aside to let rise. After kneading the dough, I split it in half and placed in oiled loaf pans and let rise overnight. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
so far its perfect I should have used a bigger bowl to let it rise it looks great I will let you know after second rise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Excellent. This is the real deal and perhaps one of the FEW real sourdoughs on this site. Making sourdough with cultured yeast defeats purpose of sourdough. Nicely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I like how the consistency if this bread turned out. Very fluffy on the inside and a firm crust in the outside. Both things that are required for a good sourdough loaf. However this isn't a sourdough. It is a white bread that uses a starter. My sourdough starter is very very sour and has been in my family for 60+ years (and my grandmother started while working at Boudin bakery in San Francisco) making delicious sourdough, so I know it wasn't a bad starter. It just doesn't make for a very sour loaf. That being said I was looking for a recipe that didn't take 3 days like my grandmother's and this one will do just fine. I might tweak it a bit to make it more sour but other than that it makes for a great bread. For anyone not using bread flour I highly recommend replacing two tbls of flour with baking soda so that you get a proper rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This recipe turned out really well! I did not have a problem kneading it after it rose. I added and extra cup of starter and it was a bit sweet. MAybe a little less sugar next time. That being said, every started is going to be a bit different. Over all, a very successful baking experience. I should note, I am NOT and experience bread baker and found this recipe pretty easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
The starter is great (use Becky's) and follow the recipe. Easy to make and tastes great. At first the bread is very spongy and doesn't taste much like sour dough (it's a very sticky dough too). But it improves emencely as the starter is fed and ages. My guys really like it, give it a try! Thanks Becky! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notabrat1
Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States