Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
As with the starter, I was prepared to give my first low star review but it gets 5 stars with an OMG attached to it!!! This bread is amazing. I made just as directed, no changes what so ever. Yeah it takes awhile to make but this is how good bread is made. It is the first time in YEARS I have made bread without the machine and I am so glad I took the plunge!! It's not super sour but I have family members that are really into sour so it is perfect for this household. I have NEVER made bread without yeast, even bread made with a starter and was expecting a flat, dense loaf. What I got was a beautiful, light, fluffy and extremely flavorful bread that the family is already asking me to make more of. Thank goodness this makes 2 loaves cause the first one was demolished 5 minutes after taking it out of the oven. Try it, it is amazing and like I said...it may take awhile to make but all good things are worth waiting for. Use Beckys potato starter with this, you won't be sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I would like to know what I did wrong. After leaving all night I had to add flour to be able to knead. Then the dough never raised again. I had to throw it away. Any suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
Most people say that this kind of bread takes soooo long to make, but actually it takes no longer than other bread, you just have to spread your activities out over 2 days instead of a solid half an hour. No matter what, it is worth it! I used to make this bread, then I got wimpy and started using the bread machine, but now I'm back, because there is no substitute for this bread! The only suggestions I would make is to let your bread rise both times in a very warm place, and I omit the sifting of the flour (but that's a personal thing I guess). Your bread will get rave reviews, especially if they can smell it when it's baking and taste it hot out of the oven!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I have made many a loaves of bread, and have tried several from my starter (not from the same person). This recipe worked up fine. It is sweeter than I like, not sour at all and honestly quite bland, but makes a great loaf of white sandwich bread from your starter. I was concerned since it browned awfully fast and tapped hollow at 30 min, so I took it out tested it and and it really needed more time. Reluctantly, I put it back in for the rest of the time and thankfully it gets very brown but not an overly thick crust. I am making this again tonight, but will cut the sugar, even more and substitute 3 cups whole wheat. Tip to those new to bread making, just use a knife to divide into 2 loaves and it is very important to give it a warm place to rise overnight. The yeast needs that. Also I let my starter sit out and get to room temperature all day then make the dough at night. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WUNDERKINDER
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
If you follow the directions, this bread turns out beautifully. The second time I made it, I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, which made it just about perfect. Please ignore the reviews by people who failed to follow the recipe (ie, using Herman starter), or those reviewers who are unhappy with their starter. If you use a good, proven starter, you will love this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WUNDERKINDER
Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Custer, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I had the same problem as a previous reviewer: after rising initially, the dough needed lots of flour (was like a batter) and did not rise a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
OH MY GOODNESS!!! This bread turned out WONDERFUL! I admit I was actually a little bit nervous about how it would turn out. I didn't have bread flour, so I simply used allpurpose flour. I also didn't have corn oil, and used vegetable oil instead. It was so light and fluffy and moist. I will say, however, that your bread is only as good as your starter. I used the starter by the same cook, Becky Richardson, that has potato flakes rather than flour. It was WELL worth the wait for this bread! Wonderful for sandwiches as well as toast in the morning. Keep it in the refrigerator wrapped in plastic, or in a plastic zipper bag, and it will keep longer. It doesn't have preservatives, so the shelf life isn't all that long. If I could give more than 5 stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Thanks Becky! Yes it is easy and even the most novice of novice can make a wonderful loaf of bread from it. I used this recipe for years and finally neglected it unto the point of death. I have actually been asked to make rolls from this starter for our Senior Citizens' Banquets. I was given another start of it and will be using it again. I have made cinnamon rolls, whole wheat bread by substituting 1-2 cups of Hodgson's Mill Whole Wheat flour for the bread flour, and calazone loaves using ham, cheese, sweet green peppers and onions. It is so versitile and delicious. Most of all it is easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
It is definitely important to let this rise overnight, it makes a lot of bread so you might want to half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
I used this recipe with the "Herman" sourdough starter and it was wonderful. I've given this bread away and everyone wants the recipe. I tried making the san francisco bread with the herman sourdough and it was good, but actually a little too sweet this recipe was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States