Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by BakingAddict485
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I used my own starter for this which is just a basic flour and water one. It turned out so good! I made it with 4 cups white flour and 2 of whole wheat flour and that made a nice texture. I also did 1 loaf of bread and then made 12 rolls with the other half of the dough. I rolled the tops of them in poppy seeds and cooked them in a 9x13 dish for 30 minutes. They are even yummier than the bread. I can't wait to use this recipe again. A note to those who are having problems with the dough rising, it's not the recipe, it's your starter. Try feeding it for two days before baking your bread. Mine is a hearty starter and my dough rose very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Syd0224
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I received a sourdough starter from my father and tried a recipe that he had given me. That "batch" never really rose and came out very heavy. I had to try again so I found this recipe. It rose very well over night but in the morning I only had one official bread pan in metal and one square casserole dish so I used those. At a friend's suggestion I turned on my oven to 175 and when it reached that temp turned it off and put the loaves in to rise while I went to work. When I came home one had risen beautifully and the other had not. The one in the metal pan was flat and "sad looking". I went ahead and baked the risen one and transferred the other to another glass "meatloaf" pan. I left it on top of the stove while cooking dinner and it rose beautifully too! I baked the other and they both came out great! In light of this, I recommend not using metal to bake in; there was no other difference between the two. I believe this could have been SEWON's problem. I'm thrilled to announce I've successfully made my first bread and can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd0224

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Love this recipe, but for me it seems to be almost a full 2 day process, but it is worth it. My family loves this recipe, I almost can't keep up with the demand for it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Exceptional!!! Most wonderful bread EVER! I am so glad I used this recipe with her sourdough starter. If you follow the directions with patience and care, you will be most wonderfully rewarded!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
The recipe I use with the Potato Flake starter fed with 3/4 cup sugar, 3 heaping T. potato flakes, and 1 cup warm water uses the same as this except 2 tsp. salt, 1/4 cup sugar, & 1/3 cup oil. I use canola oil. For 100% whole wheat bread, use 1 1/2 cups starter and 1 cup warm water for the 6 cups whole wheat flour. Omit the sugar in the bread recipe for less sweet dough. Add vinegar to make it more sour. Sometimes I use 1 small pkg. Jell-o Island Pineapple dry mix instead of the sugar to make a "Hawaiian" Bread dough for loaves, buns, or cinnamon rolls. Vary flavor using different oils. Olive oil and Italian seasoning makes Italian bread flavor. You can use the dough after first rising to make thin crust pizza. Punch it down, roll thin, place on sprayed pan, and par-bake on preheated pizza stone. Top & bake at once or freeze then top & bake later. For thick crust, let rise to desired size; top; bake on preheated pizza stone. Since the dough sits for 12 hour periods of time during rising, I don't use perishable products in it like eggs, milk, or fresh foods. I use dried mixes, herbs & spices, dried fruits, etc. that impart their flavors. I use Pyrex glass loaf pans and bake @ 350°. My loaves (3 per batch) bake in 28 minutes. It freezes well, but lasts a long time on the counter. I don't knead the dough but 20-25 times after mixing. Each portion has 8 - 12 hours between. Feed, 8-12 hrs sit; Mix, 8-12 hrs sit; Shape, 8-12 hrs sit; Bake. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glitch
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
turned out nice. I used my own starter but otherwise followed the recipe as written. It did rise quite well overnight and the 2nd rise only took about 3 hours, baked up lovely and deliscious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glitch

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This recipe is excellent (munching a piece right now)! I had a little issue with rise, but this is due to the fact that I have relatively young starter. My dough took 2 days to rise (so don't give up hope if it takes a while). Also, the bread is only lightly sour. Again, this is because I have a young starter. But the flavor is lovely. Thanks for posting! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I didn't have any problem getting it to rise but it was too sweet for me...not sour enough for "sour" dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I've been using this recipe for awhile now & it's excellent. I use Becky's "Sourdough Starter I", all purpose flour and canola oil. I mix everything but the flour in a large bowl with a wooden spoon (adding the last cup of flour gradually -you may need a little more or less) and then I mix it a couple of minutes by hand until it is a nice consistency. I leave mine slightly sticky. I've gotten lazy & I never do the 10 minute knead anymore. I just deflate it & shape it a little to fit my pan & it comes out great! For the 2nd rise, I always leave the bread in the oven, uncovered so that I don't deflate it taking the cover off. I used to only make yeast bread so when I first made this, I was unaware of the very LONG RISE TIME. Plan on anywhere from 5-7 hours for your second rise. I bake it 40 minutes & it's always perfect. This bread does NOT have the typical sour sourdough flavor so if that's what you're looking for, this is not for you. It is delicious though but expect a hint of sweetness. We love it toasted and buttered! Even my picky husband loves the flavor! Thank you Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Great recipe. I wasn't worried that with only the started the bread wouldn't rise. Sure enough it took the full overnight period to rise the first time and about 6 hours to rise the second time but it was amazing! Like others I would advise cutting back on the sugar and maybe a dash more salt. I made two loafs and would advise bread rounds instead of the the loaf. The round seemed to rise better, backed more evenly and had a better texture. It did only need to bake for about 25 minutes, so be careful. I will absolutely make this recipe again with my slight alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States